Mums Apple Pie.jpgSince my unexpected arrival back in Australia 2 weeks ago, I have been bunkering down at my parents’ house.  It has always been a place that I feel at home, get taken care of and can take some time to get my head on straight. I was fortunate to have one of my Apples.jpgclosest friends K and her baby and husband come up the first weekend for Sunday lunch. This was a wonderful distraction and enjoyable afternoon, a great way to get my mind of my own troubles.

I managed to help Mum whip up some food, making a mushroom risotto and some fresh bread. However in my less than stellar state I let Ingredients.jpgMum cook dessert. Mum’s apple pie (that is actually her sister’s husband’s grandmother’s recipe… yes it is one of those recipes) is sweet, delicious and not like the apple pies you get in the US. It has a sweet shortcrust pastry rather than the more savoury kind you get in the US.Pastry.jpg

Firstly put on the apples to stew… Just peel and slice up some granny smith apples and add them to a pot with 2 tablespoons of sugar.

For the pastry, beat 125 grams of butter and ¾ cup of sugar together until creamy. Add in 2 eggs, 1 at a time, beating well after each addition. Next mix in 1 teaspoon of vanilla Rolling.jpgand a pinch of salt. Then gradually mix in 2 cups of self-raising flour, ½ cup of plain flour and ½ cup of cornflour. Mix this until everything is combined.

Filling.jpg

The rest is simply rolling out the dough for the base and the top. Filling the pie with thecooled apples and then baking.

It bakes in a 180C oven for about 30 minutes or until the crust is golden brown. The great thing is that because the apples are cooked you’re Pie.jpgjust cooking the pastry until it is crispy.

This is now my new go to sweet choice for when I am down… not chocolate or icecream… Mum’s apple pie. Served with a dollop of icecream or fresh cream, it is just the perfect way to end a Sunday lunch or any lunch or dinner or breakfast… my new comfort food. Thankfully though it isn’t hard to make it is just time consuming enough for me not to make it too often… otherwise I could be in big trouble! Delicious, sweet and crispy… give it a try, it is guaranteed to help warm your heart!

Slice of pie.jpg

 

Comments
  1. Sally Scott says:

    Home is where the heart is – also parents and delicious pie. Hugs from Arizona!

  2. It all looks wonderful…and consider yourself hugged. Life is full of surprises and changes; I hope you see the best coming!

  3. wigdanguneid says:

    Yumm, this recipe is a keeper, I always like to bake with a mixture of corn flour and white flour, it gives you this extra crust, color, and taste.. Thanks for sharing!;)

  4. andmorefood says:

    I love apple pie, but I’m not sure it’d be better than chocolate!

  5. Patty Nguyen says:

    Your pie is so pretty! I bet it tastes even more delicious. 🙂

  6. Abbi says:

    Looks delicious. Can you tell me what size the pie plate is?

  7. Micheng says:

    This must be really good…

  8. Honestly that pie is prettier than ANY I’ve seen in a diner or bakery! Beautiful — and I bet it tastes even better!

  9. Cary says:

    Delicious sounding recipe. Thanks!

Leave any suggestions or comments!

