Plum & Lime Jam.jpgWalking through one of our local supermarkets recently I had a flash back to childhood when I saw mountains of delicious red plums on sale… not just for sale but on sale for a ridiculously low price! J. watched with wide eyes as I kept adding more and more plums to my bag! I explained to him that mum used to make plum jam at home and nothing tastes quite as delicious as homemade jam.

The plums weren’t completely ripe so I decided to wait until the weekend to make my jam. During the week I kept trying to think of another ingredient I could put with the plums to make it a little more interesting and possibly even more delicious. It wasn’t until Saturday morning when I was getting prepared to start cooking that I looked down and saw some limes… Plum and lime jam – of course!

My mum’s recipe is 1:1 ratio of fruit and sugar… delicious, yes but high in sugar so I thought I would play with it a bit. I used 4 pounds of red plums that I cut in half and took out the seed. I didn’t cut them smaller because I wanted my jam to have some chunks of fruit in it. Plums and Sugar.jpg

My 4 pounds of halved plums went into a large. I had tasted the plums and they were really quite sweet so I decided to just add a single cup of sugar to the pot. I thought I could always add more later if it wasn’t sweet enough, but in the end I didn’t need to.

I put this pot onto the stove on a medium heat to start the stewing process. I added 1/2 cup of lime juice to the pot and stirred everything together. How easy is that! I just left everything to bubble away while I cooked some other things (fresh bread, triple chocolate marble mudcake – posts to come soon on those!)

Bubbling away.jpgI occasionally stirred the mixture to make sure it wasn’t sticking and also tasted it a couple of times to see if it was too tangy and needed more sugar. Once it was the consistency I wanted – jammy! I turned off the heat and let it cool. While it was cooling I sterilized a few jars.

I loved how this turned out, it was both sweet and tangy. The lime really gave the plums a zesty lift and made sure that the jam wasn’t just completely sweet. J. tried it out on some of the bread I had just baked and really enjoyed it. He like that it was tangy and tasted so purely of plum!

I really enjoyed making this. I haven’t ever made jam by myself and have only watched my mum do it when I was really young. I really only remember licking the spoon. For a first time effort I think I did well. We have a large supply of plum and lime jam now so I won’t need to make any for a while. I might even give some away as edible gifts… always a yummy present. It might make a great Christmas gift in a few months since it is such a fabulously festive color.

Now I just need to think of some other interesting jam combinations!

Comments
  1. Black Cat says:

    This looks fantastic! Been loving the jam making this year… one more batch can’t hurt can it! Thanks for sharing it

  2. I love plum jam and it’s hard to find it in shops – if I see any plums going cheap I’ll make this!

  3. A Taste of Brazil says:

    Looks delicious!

  4. Looks so good! isn’t it funny how easy jam is to make? And how many different flavor combos you can put together? I made this the other week: http://dailyinakitchen.com/2013/08/04/nektarin-och-kardemumma-marmelad-nectarine-and-cardamom-marmelade/

  5. Madeleine says:

    will have to try…looks delicious! 🙂

  6. Plum jam, this sounds great. Our plums are just starting to fall. This recipe will put them to good use.

  7. kunstkitchen says:

    I recently had a lime jam disaster, which I wrote about. This recipe sounds really fine. Delicious to see. What type of pan do you use to cook the fruit?

  8. Ashley says:

    This looks delicious, I tried making jam for the first time this summer without great results. I tried with Strawberry jam. I didn’t have any trouble with the canning process, but the jam came out sticky and it wouldn’t spread. I’m not giving up, maybe I’ll try this next.

  9. lonaj68 says:

    mmm. Plums aren’t in season yet yet here but as soon as they are…….

  10. Anonymous says:

    Looks delicious! I have never done the canning before, we usually eat it fast enough anyway. Do you know of a guide for that?

    For combination ideas… I did a plum and lemon (with lemon peel) a while back: http://kaleidoescape.wordpress.com/2012/06/10/plum-lemon-preserves/ Another variation of the same is plum, lemon, lychee which is interesting. My favorite so far that I’ve made, if not the plum and lemon, is backberry, blueberry, black currant.

  11. anjali0102 says:

    Hey! Looks delicious! I have a question, how do you get so many likes and comments? You could e-mail me, if you want to. My e-mail is on my blog in the about section! 🙂 thanks!

  12. Jenn E. says:

    Mmm…lime and plum sound delicious together!

  13. I’m making raspberry jam tonight, hopefully mine looks HALF this good! haha

  14. momgfnoms says:

    Wow that sounds fabulous! I love the idea behind that flavor contrast!

  15. Ooooh this is one of the most scrumptious looking recipes ever! I can almost taste it! Am forwarding this to my cousin who makes a lovely plum jam… she’ll love the addition of the tangy lime! =0)

  16. Can I be on your Christmas list! I love plums and this looks really good.

Leave any suggestions or comments!

