Panfried Scallops with Pomegranate Glaze.jpgI’m back from DC and still have more restaurants to blog about but I thought I would go back to some home cooking for an entry to keep things varied. As I mentioned last week, I made J. a three course meal as payment for a bet we had made. Although I started with dessert in my blog last week, I thought I would share the delicious first course we started our meal with.

J. had requested scallops… he hadn’t said anything about how he wanted them cooked or with what… just scallops. This left it open for me to try something new and a little different to how we would normally eat them. After looking through recipes and more recipes, I was inspire to mesh together a half dozen ideas to create my own Frankenstein of a dish. I shall call it “Pan-fried Scallops and Baby Spinach with Spiced Pomegranate Glaze.”

Pmegranate Glaze.jpg

I started on the glaze early so I could set it aside and concentrate on the main course but it was relatively quick and easy. In a small pan I combined 1/3 cup of pomegranate juice (use 100% juice for best flavor), 1 tablespoon of honey, a pinch or dried thyme, cinnamon and red chili flakes. I mixed this together and placed it on a medium heat to bring to a simmer.

While this was heating up in a cup I mixed together 1/2 teaspoon of cornflour and 1 tablespoon of lime juice. When the pomegranate mixture was boiling I poured in the lime mixture, stirring it in quickly. I then just left this to simmer for 15 minutes until it had reduced and become syrupy. Once syrupy I set it aside… that’s the hard part of this recipe done!

Scallops.jpg

A few minutes before we were ready to eat I cooked up the rest of the course.

I lightly oiled a pan and brought it up to heat. When the pan was nice and hot I added 6 large fresh scallops. I had seasoned these lightly with some freshly ground black pepper. I only cooked these for about 90 seconds on each side before removing them from the pan.

Into that same pan I put around 1 tablespoon of olive oil and 2 large handfuls of fresh baby spinach. As these cooked down I seasoned with salt and pepper. When the spinach was slightly wilted I turned off the heat and put together the dish.

Spinach in a small pile with the scallops on top and the glaze drizzled over the top… done!Baby Spinach.jpg

I was surprised by how delicious this was. I love scallops and could eat a plate of them with nothing else but salt and pepper. The pomegranate glaze really brought out the sweetness in the seafood which was amazing. This really was the perfect way to start the meal. Light, delicious and different. J. enjoyed them thoroughly which I guess is the most important thing but the fact that I loved the dish as well just makes it even better!

Comments
  1. Vinny Grette says:

    Are all your posts this delcious and nutrient dense? I have to follow and find out 🙂

  2. Hi my name is Jacquie and I’m addicted to scallops……
    This looks amazing! I love playing with fruit and savory dishes!
    Must.try.now.

  3. belocchio says:

    This is a brilliant executed recipe. Scallops allow the informed cook to do wonderful things with it. One of the most popular dishes in our French restaurant was scallops simply sauted in butter with finely sliced apples. The pan deglazed with Calvados and thicked with cream. Devine. Keep cooking girl. Virginia

  4. mikaeltox says:

    have to try this in the near future… fun cooking and new interesting tastes!

  5. Thanks for liking my Collateral Lettuce post about date milkshakes! Have you tried one before?

    I really dig scallops (actually, all of the ingredients in this dish), and my most memorable scallop meal was in Japan thirteen years ago. Somehow, roasted pumpkin and ramen were involved…

  6. dasrecipes says:

    Ooohhhhh…. that looks sooooo good! I have to head out now and get me some scallops 🙂

  7. Aw geez… I’m really hungry now! I haven’t experimented with sauces very much, but now I want to! I’m just on a break from digging post holes, but I know what I’ll be thinking about while I’m digging…

  8. Thanks for stopping by and following my blog! Gotta love foodies! 🙂

  9. That is awesome, definitely having a whirl at this one!

  10. steviebill says:

    Looks really nice.

  11. fatfrankly says:

    Is it bad that I kind of want to drink the pomegranate glaze? That looks delicious!

  12. This is a great blog! Thanks so much for the follow, love what you have done with your site and would be dropping by often!

  13. really quite simple but with a huge wow factor. i don’t think we get scallops here much (i am South African) but i may bastardise your recipe with another seafood. will let you know if/when i do

  14. michaelawah says:

    thanks for dropping by:) So coincidentally i watched a prog on TV last night and they were eating fresh scallops straight out of the sea in Scotland. So big, so fresh.. I could only drool. Yours look plump and nicely seared as well :)) Have you checked out pomegranate molasses? It’s often used in Middle Eastern cuisine. I like it for its tart and sweet taste. Goes very well with spices too.

  15. I’ve always been hesitant to try scallops myself — they seem so delicate. This makes me think I may actually be able to make them pretty freaking well myself…with your recipe and creativity of course 😉

  16. momgfnoms says:

    Sounds wonderful! Scallops are a new obsession for me!

  17. Thanks so much for following my blog! Yours is great, I love the concept!

  18. apensacolacook says:

    My husband loves scallops so I’ll definitely have to try this!

  19. Reblogged this on Living on a Restricted Diet and commented:
    This sounds interesting, although I might try figs instead of pomegranate…and of course I’d leave off the salt. Scallops are like a blank flavor canvas, so you can paint them in all sorts of interesting ways.
    John

  20. I can’t wait to try this!

Leave any suggestions or comments!

