Steamed dim sum.jpgFirstly, thanks to everyone who gave such great food suggestions for my trip to DC. I would need to stay here a few weeks to make it to all of them but unfortunately I only have 3 nights. I arrived into the city late this afternoon and have already been out to try the first of the 3 places I decided on.

Ping Pong Dim Sum was recommended by FreshDaily 101 We have a weakness for dim sum. I had to go to this place, just so I could send photos of the delicious food back to J. To make him jealous… Oh, and it is so close to the hotel. It is a really nice restaurant, not at all what the name suggests and tonight it was packed and energized for their Wednesday mojito madness. I stayed away from the mojitos but was ready for a good meal after having only a smoothie hours before back in Arizona.

Although the menu isn’t completely traditional, it still offered all of my favorites and Ping pong selection.jpgthen some. After perusing the menu, I decided on the Ping Pong Selection which gave me my favorites and a mix of their more unusual dim sum flavors. To accompany the dim sum I ordered a draft beer I had never seen before, yuengling lager.

The beer came out quickly and it was delicious, a nice accompaniment for dinner. The Ping Pong selection was 10 different dim sum for $20. A little more expensive than other dim sum but I think in the end it was worth the money.

My first plate came out with 3 pieces, a honey roasted chicken puff, a Vietnamese rice paper shrimp roll and a crisp potato cake. Not the most traditional but incredibly delicious. All three were very fresh and crispy. The potato cake was amazing and so crunchy on the outside but creamy inside. A really good start to the meal.

A little different.jpgThe remaining items all came out in a large steamer. I do love being presented food this way. They were all still steaming and looked delicious. I left my favorites until the end… Eating my way through a steamed sea bass dumpling, a chicken, pineapple and lemongrass dumpling, a crabmeat and prawn dumpling and a beef and cumin dumpling. They were definitely fresh and perfectly cooked to my liking. They were unusual flavors but I really liked them. The beef had Indian flavors to me and the sea bass was just amazing.

Finally I came to my 3 favorites and how I measure any dim sum restaurant… Har gua, seafood shu mai and a char sui bun. The first two were good, tasty and well made. The char sui bun was the final test. It was so very good… After years of eating these after nights out in Japan, they are still one of my all time favorite foods. The bun was light and fluffy and pork had such great flavor.

I was so pleased.

This is a different dim sum restaurant. If you are looking for traditional, it isn’t the place for you but I say live a little, try something different! This is a great place to do that… Pineapple, cumin, and potato in dumplings… Who wouldn’t want to try that… Plus some of the best steamed pork buns I have eaten.

Thanks again Fresh Daily 101. This was a wonderful start to my trip. Tomorrow night is St Arnold Mussel Bar.

Comments
  1. gcroft says:

    I’ve just realised that it’s the same Ping Pong chain that we have here in London! Great place.

  2. happyplate2 says:

    This is right up my alley. I hear only the best things about DC, I can’t wait to visit. Thanks for the follow and foodie love!

  3. I have always wanted to try dim sum! Next time I am in D.C., this is the place! Thanks!

  4. Hi, I am so glad that you had the chance to check out Ping Pong Dim Sum. I was sure that you would enjoy it. The ingredients they pair together are explosive and taste amazing. Next time I’m in DC I will be sure to check out some of the places your going to on your visit now as well as make a visit back to Ping Pong Dim Sum. Enjoy the rest of your trip and eating adventures.

  5. her30s says:

    I was there this past May and it was delicious! I was not even a fan of dim sum until that night.

  6. Where else are you planning on eating? Make sure to make a reservation if you get the chance to go to Founding Farmers, I think it is worth it 🙂

  7. The dumplings sound delicious, especially the sea bass one! I don’t think I’ve ever had that…need to remedy that quick!

  8. Guy Humeniuk says:

    Reblogged this on TheFoodGuy and commented:
    I know it’s not the Med…. but Dim Sum Baby!

Leave any suggestions or comments!

