Mango Coconut Panna Cotta.jpgJ. and I like to make bets with each other at different times. Whether it is on the AFL, NFL, the Olympics or who was in a particular movie, it makes for some fun teasing and competitiveness between the two of us which we both enjoy.

Most often the bets will involve payouts of dinners out or dinners made or chores done… I hate to say that I am often on the loosing end of these bets. For example last summer I lost a number in a row and ended up having to change the cats litter box for 2 months straight… not fun.

Ingredients.jpg

J. won a bet again recently that let him decide on a 3 course, homemade dinner and then chose this past weekend to redeem it! The meal he chose was scallops, followed by roast lamb and potato gratin and then panna cotta for dessert. He really didn’t have any preference for how I cooked the scallops or what flavor panna cotta I made, so I got to play a little.

First I chopped up 2 ripe mangoes and puréed them in the blender. The mixture should become Mango.jpgrelatively smooth. I then set this aside. I added 500ml of thickened cream (whipping cream) and 500ml of coconut cream to a saucepan. This went onto medium heat and I added 1/3 cup of caster sugar to this mixture. I kept stirring this until it was completely heated through, (around 3 minutes) and the sugar had melted.For dessert I decided on a Mango Coconut Panna Cotta… nice and light and very summery. The great thing about panna cotta is that I can make it early on in the day and it just sits in the fridge ready to go for dinner. First thing Saturday morning I got to work.

Cream mixture.jpg

In a small bowl I put 2 tablespoons of boiling water and 1 tablespoon of gelatin powder and stirred this until the gelatin had melted. Setting this aside I went back to the cream mixture.

I added the puréed mango to the cream mixture, mixing until it was completely combined. I put this into a jug (passing it through a sieve to make sure I got out any chunky bits of mango). Finally, I added the gelatin mixture to the jug, stirring quickly until it was completely mixed in.

Ready for pouring.jpg

That’s everything done! It was easy. I just then poured the mixture evenly into 6 ramekins and placed them in the fridge. They took around 5 hours to set but they were in there a lot longer just to make sure.

I removed them from the fridge about 20 minutes before we were going to eat them just to soften them a little. I topped each with some slices of fresh white peaches and grated dark chocolate.

Panna Cotta.jpg

They were delicious! J. really enjoyed it – he love both mango and coconut. I was happy with how they turned out. Perfect consistency and texture and then they tasted pretty amazing as well. A perfect summer dessert…

Comments
  1. Panna Cotta, an italian favorite. Great Recipe!

  2. Thanks for stopping by my blog.
    These look AHU- MAZING!! Definiately on my to try list!! Thank you for sharing!
    Cheers,
    Rebecca

  3. cavavaplus says:

    *drool* here in Italy I had a more traditional version, except instead of topping it with a fresh cut of fruit, they created a very light glaze of its own fruit juice (orange in this case) that gave it a more polished finished. Yours looks good, too (although I am more keen to coconut shavings than chocolate 😉

    Christina for Cavava+

  4. Looks so delicious! What a flavour combination.

  5. I love panna cotta – I plan to try this version soon. My hubby has a real sweet tooth! 🙂 Thanks for sharing.

  6. oh, good bet, goooooood bet!

  7. Sonal says:

    Mango and Coconut… That’s soooo Thai… delicious!

  8. Arlene Poma says:

    Oh, my! Mango and coconut? My Filipino heritage is calling for me to try this! As an American, I know the score when it comes to housekeeping: you never win.

  9. I have always avoided panna cotta thinking it too difficult but you make it sound so easy and delicious! will definately try this soon

  10. Anonymous says:

    Interesting… I’ve made mango coconut ice cream last weekend though I haven’t posted it yet. Thanks for visiting my blog. I’m looking forward reading yours. 🙂

  11. fromthefamilytable says:

    What’s not to like about mango, coconut, AND panna cotta?

  12. I need to start doing this with my fiance, unfortunately neither of us have your cooking skills….yet 😉

  13. judilyn says:

    Presume any summer fruit would work, yes? Sounds very good – light to end a big meal.

  14. putputteats says:

    Ahh, I love panna cotta! My husband doesn’t like it, which is perfect since it means there’s more for me… 😉 Gotta try this recipe!

Leave any suggestions or comments!

