OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOne of the big advantages of my job is that I get to travel. In the last few months I have been to Las Vegas, Charlotte and Austin… all for work. There will be posts about all the deliciousness I ate on those trips.

In the next couple of months I am going to Washington DC and Dallas for work and then on vacation to Hawaii.

With all this upcoming travel, I have a lot of food planning to do. This is usually J’s responsibility but he isn’t coming to DC with me, so it falls on my shoulders.

Ben's Chili Bowl

I have been to DC before and done all the sightseeing. Last time we were there  was around 3 years ago. We ate some great food on that

Capitol City Brewing Company – I don’t have any photos of the food we had here but it was good quality pub fare. Most importantly they had a large and delicious range of their own beers which were most enjoyable.trip!

Ben's Chili Dog

Ben’s Chili Bowl – From everything I hear, this is an institution in DC! We dragged our friend with the meat phobia here and even convinced   her to try one of the chili dogs. Telling her that President Obama had eaten here convinced her it would be ok. It was fantastic! It was my first chili dog and I probably will never have one anywhere near as delicious as this was. This place is an example of exactly the kind of food and place we love – simple, hole in the wall just doing what they do very well and deliciously!

The Dancing Crab – This was one of J’s discoveries when he was researching our trip. Being huge seafood lovers, it was a must and we weren’t disappointed. Giant trays of spicy crabs were brought Dancing Crabout. Dressed in our plastic bibs, tools in hand, we dug in and ate ourselves silly! Again, this is the perfect kind of place, out of the tourist areas with great service and food. This crab was unlike any I had eaten before – I might have to make a trip back to this place – if I can figure out how to get there!

Oyamel – If you have read any of our posts about Mexican food, you will be familiar with exactly what our thoughts on it are… if you haven’t read J’s entry about this topic. Oyamel is not our usual Mexican fare. It is pricey, fancy and more like a tapas restaurant then the hole in the wall, divey places we usual frequent. However, the Oyamel Tacosfood was good and it was our chance to take a friend out for their first Mexican restaurant experience in the US. We ate tacos, mole, yummy desserts and I can’t remember what else. It is a restaurant with an interesting concept combining Mexican food and tapas, with good service and food. I have to admit though that I still prefer my hole in the walls back here in Arizona.

So that was our first trip to DC! There were other places we ate, including a random Oyamel MoleBBQ place that none of us can remember the name of, but these were by far the best experiences we had.

I would like to have great food experiences on this next trip too. This is where I need your help and advice if  you know of any great places in DC. I will be staying downtown, close to the Convention Center and am limited to public transport and taxis…

Where should I eat? I can’t wait to hear your recommendations!

Comments
  1. How has no one suggested Little Serow?!?! Sister restaurant of Komi (which I will one day be able to afford…) is easily one of the best restaurants in DC. Yes, you have to get there crazy early and wait in line, but I do crazy things for a good meal!

    http://www.littleserow.com/menu.html

    http://www.bonappetit.com/restaurants-travel/2012/09/little-serow-hot-ten

  2. This is exactly how I travel- through my stomach! Thanks for this post, I will be referencing it in the next few months as I plan my trip to D.C.

  3. We had a great meal at Smoke & Barell in Adams Morgan. An amazing bbq joint with great beer.

  4. Hey there! I’ve been reading your site for a long time now and finally got the courage to go ahead and give you a shout out from New Caney Tx! Just wanted to say keep up the great work!

  5. alinagk says:

    You should check out Divan in Georgetown, it’s Turkish food, very good, and the owners are our family friends:) Also, I love Zaytiniya, it’s in Chinatown, Turkish food too (but no friends owners there;)). I’m very picky about food, and I think Turkish cuisine has a lot to offer either you eat everything or you’re vegan/vegetarian.

  6. Nancy says:

    We go to DC yearly [to visit my daughter]. My top picks: Kapnos [Greek/Mediterranean] & Graffiato [Italian] both from chef Mike Isabella; Jaleo for spanish tapas [chef Jose Andres]; Shake Shack for lunch [yes, a chain, but wow!]. Her absolute favorites are Founding Farmers and The Hamilton. Must try: Gin Lemonade on tap at Kapnos. May need to extend your trip, Hah!

  7. feedpixie says:

    :-O the spicy crabs sound amazing! Have you ever tried Singapore chilli crabs? Messy but so tasty! I’m salivating just thinking about it.

  8. mrewilson says:

    I have nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award! Get your badge here
    http://peopletreats.org/category/recipes-2/tuna-melt-recipes/

  9. jar3dp says:

    Cap City Brewing is great. Matchbox is a personal fav over on the edge of Chinatown.

  10. Haute Pepper says:

    If you like indian you should try Rasika http://www.rasikarestaurant.com/ if you can get in. I live in the DC area so I know lots of good options. I would also say that Jaleo http://www.jaleo.com/ is amazing for Spanish tapas and it is a Jose Andres restaurant. Founding Farmers is good but the menu is a little bit all over the place. Brunch is very popular in DC so you can find plenty of options.

  11. Sonal says:

    Try Chili’s… they have affordable set meals… and their chocolava cake is out lf this world! I have given some of my favourite Chili’s dishes on my blog just in case you are interested…

  12. mrszeg says:

    You absolutely have to eat at Founding Farmers while in DC. Their brunch is especially yummy.

  13. Jen says:

    I love Oyamel (and I grew up in Phoenix/Scottsdale), but it is very different than a typical Mexican restaurant. Anyway, I agree on Founding Farmers — I think I actually like Farmers Fishers Bakers a tiny bit better, but they are very similar and Founding Farmers is easier to get to via public transportation. Cave Mezze is also good for Greek/Mediterranean food, and you should definitely try a burger and shake at Good Stuff Eatery. My favorite is the toasted marshmallow shake!

  14. Oh! I’m headed to DC next week. Hoping to find some vegetarian options. 😀

  15. There is a great restaurant named Ping Pong Dim Sum. I can’t express how good the food and drinks are. You cannot leave without trying it out!
    I would love to hear your take on it. Have fun!

  16. I love to travel, I think it’s cool that u get to experience so many different places…. The last time I went to D.C it was a great trip and ate lots of crab 🙂 …. But there is this one restaurant named Ping Ping Dim Sum and I will NEVER FORGET IT! It was so good, I really can’t put into words how yummy it was and u can taste a bit of everything because its dim sum so whatever u order is small amounts. U cannot leave without going there. PING PONG DIM SUM! Check it out please! I would love to hear ur take on it. Have fun !

  17. tkbakesalot says:

    We are living in CA having moved from Dallas 3 yrs ago! Each time we go home there are several places we have to fit in! For mexican food,El Fenix or Mi Cocina, Seafood we always go to Pappadeux (a chain but best food ever). Steak we head to 3 Forks or Pappas Brothers! Sammies (real hole in the wall) is best barbeque in Dallas!

  18. tkbakesalot says:

    We are from Dallas, just moving to CA from there 3 years ago! When we go back there are several favorites we always have to fit in! For Seafood head to Pappadeux, it is a chain but the best seafood ever!! Their greek salad is awesome. Better thanwhat we had in Greece! Mexican food is El Feniz or Mi Cocina for mexican food and u have to go to 3 Forks for steak!

  19. http://adamsmorganbar.com/St_Arnolds_Mussel_Bar.html {Go to the one on Jefferson and order the Mussels in duck fat. Life changing!}

    http://www.ebbitt.com/ {I fell in love with the Camembert and Arugula Salad.}

    …and I completely agree that you need to go to Founding Farmers 🙂

    Enjoy!

    • Awesome! Thanks for the tips. I do love anything with duck fat!!!

    • auntiedoni says:

      I agree, The Old Ebbitt! We go there everytime we visit family (a couple times a year)… NOW, if you want to know about HAWAII … ask ME!!! That’s where I’m from, lived there for um, well my entire life until we retired and moved to Arizona. Take a look at some of my posts about Hawaii @ mykitcheninthemiddleofthedesert,wordpress.com… ALOHA!

  20. Alicia says:

    Founding Farmers in DC is excellent. I did a review if you want more details. Have fun in DC! http://aliciatasteslife.wordpress.com/2012/08/28/founding-farmers-washington-d-c/

Leave any suggestions or comments!

