Passionfruit Choc Brownies.jpgOver the weekend we ran out of sweets. We have been trying to cut back on sweets, which means I have curbed my baking a little but we still like to have one small thing after dinner each night as a treat. So on Saturday when we discovered all our treats had been eaten, I know I had to bake.

I gave J. a few things to choose from and he settled on Passionfruit Choc Brownies. Like every normal person we love chocolate and we are both crazy about passionfruit, even though you can’t get fresh ones here in Arizona.

(I am trying to grow my own vine though…)

Luckily I still have some of the passionfruit nectar in a tin left from our last supply run to Australia!

I must apologize for the lack of step-by-step photos… but it is so easy, the photos aren’t really necessary.

Out of the oven.jpg

First up, I preheated the oven to 180C (356F) and greased my square baking tin. I roughly broke up125 grams of 70% dark chocolate and chopped up 125 grams of unsalted butter, putting them into a heatproof bowl. Over a saucepan of simmering water, I melted the butter and chocolate until combined.

Once completely melted I took it off the heat and added 150 grams of light brown sugar, stirring until the sugar is incorporated. To this mixture I added 2 medium eggs and 1 additional egg yolk… (2 whites, 3 yolks). I mixed all of this together before sifting in 40 grams of self-raising flour, 40 grams of cocoa powder and a pinch of salt. It is best to use a really high quality cocoa powder for this so you get the best flavor in the brownie.

Ready to cut.jpg

When this was all combined I added 4 tablespoons of passionfruit nectar (including seeds) and mixed that in. I poured the mixture into the

tin and placed it on the middle shelf of the oven for 20 minutes.

They smelt delicious when they came out of the oven but we were good and went to the gym, had dinner and then ate a brownie. I cut them up and J and I ate one with a glass of milk.The best way to tell that the brownies are done is to insert a skewer and it comes out with some dense crumbs left on the skewer but no gloopy, wet mixture.

The brownies have a great chocolate flavor with just a hint of the passionfruit. I would probably add more passionfruit nectar next time. However, they are yummy and delicious and not too sweet, just the right amount of sweetness, thanks to the dark chocolate.

This was the first time I have made them and I will be definitely making them again… J. really enjoys them too – a nice sweet treat after dinner!

Comments
  1. Hi! thanks for your visit to Sweet Rebel! I’m intrigued with any recipe that uses local fresh produce, and Passionfruit are abundant here.. I’m going to try this most definitely! Enjoying your blog!

  2. webber03 says:

    I am from Australia and oh my gosh, I am going to have to try this!! Looks delicious! Thanks for sharing 🙂 also thanks for checking out my new blog 🙂
    Mel@blognbake

  3. bellyfulloffood says:

    Thanks for checking out my blog. These brownies look yummy. Lots of lovely recipes on your blog. Keep up the good work

  4. Thanks for stopping by blog! These brownies look great! I love passionfruit and chocolate! Hope you enjoy the lemon and rosewater yoyos.

  5. What a great idea! Would you try it with any other flavors? Possibly tamper with other nectars or syrups?

  6. lifeisanadventure says:

    I’m going to have to try this. Sounds absolutely delicious

  7. Your brownies look gorgeous and I can’t wait to try out the passion fruit chocolate combination!! Thansk so much for the like on my page at http://www.midihideaways.wordpress.com and for introducting me to your recipe that way!!

  8. putputteats says:

    What an interesting combination! I imagine it would be rich and somewhat tangy…? Anyway, it sounds amazing!

  9. That looks delectable!!! Yum!

  10. G’day! What an interesting combination, true!
    I have SO many wonderful childhood memories of brownies…yours looks YUM too!
    Cheers! Joanne
    http://www.facebook.com/whatsonthelist

  11. thehungrymum says:

    Brownies are my true weakness. These look superb 🙂

  12. Hooray! You have received the Versatile Blogger Award Nomination! The Invention of Living has been snooping through your blog and we love what we see! Please check out your nomination on our blog @ theinventionofliving.com along with the guidelines on what comes next! 🙂 Congratulations!

  13. atalley says:

    Thanks for stopping by and checking my blog out! Like you, I can’t go without at least a little something sweet in the evening-passionfruit brownies sound like the perfect thing. Yum!

  14. Do you deliver? 😉 I have heard of passion fruit but never used it! Any other recommendations for ways it can be used? I always love trying new ingredients!

  15. This looks absolutely sinful!
    I will have to go out passion-fruit-hunting, but something tells me it will be worth the effort 😉
    nicely done, i can almost smell the brownies off my laptop screen 😉

  16. Hi there, I nominated you for the Liebster Award. If you are interested click here: http://ourgrowingpaynes.wordpress.com/2013/08/01/honored-with-the-liebster-award/

  17. These sound great! I never thought of combining passionfruit and chocolate..yum!

  18. acuriousgal says:

    Looks and sounds so yummy!!

  19. Leia says:

    I recently had some truffles with this flavour combo and was so impressed! Can’t wait to try it in Brownie form.

  20. This looks great. I love things that are not too sweet. Anything goes with chocolate, even bacon! Thanks!

  21. I feel so out of it…..I have never had a passionfruit!!

  22. Janet Rörschåch says:

    “So I had to bake.” Impelled to do so, yes. You are a gem.

  23. sophiezest says:

    Sounds yummy. I also like a treat in the evenings, and am trying to wean myself off large quantities of cake and chocolate! But did you really use 4 grams of cocoa? That sounds like a very small amount (less than a tsp).

Leave any suggestions or comments!

