20130721-190606.jpgI would never say that I am a beer connoisseur. I am nowhere near discerning enough to where that label! I am happy to pretty much drink any kind of beer, with little or no judgement. I do however have some beers that I don’t particularly like. Fruity beers often seem too sweet and less like a beer than I would like. Often I feel like I am drinking a soda or cocktail. I simply don’t believe in fruit beer!

J. isn’t really a fan of beer at all, occasionally he will have a beer and will always taste mine but I am well and truly the drinker in our relationship… I’m not complaining, after all that means I always have a happy designated driver.

We were out shopping on the weekend and I saw a six pack of San Tan Brewing Company‘s Mr Pineapple, pineapple wheat beer on special. J. had tried this on a visit to San Tan Brewery and had like it. San Tan is a small brewery and restaurant here in Chandler, not too far from our place. I have been there but had never tried the Mr Pineapple since it is a summer seasonal beer.

As an aside, the beers that I have tried at San Tan are excellent and we even took my parents there and Dad certainly enjoyed the beers he tried.

Anyway, we bought a six pack of Mr Pineapple and took it home. It was hot and humid here this weekend so a nice cool beer was perfect to go with our BBQ (Aussie Style not American style) dinner on Sunday night.

I was really pleasantly surprised by the beer. You can certainly taste the pineapple but it isn’t overpowering and just adds a little sweetness. The beer is definitely a beer, not a soda or cocktail and is incredibly refreshing.

If you happen to be in Chandler, Arizona definitely check out San Tan Brewery and try some of the beers and the food (which is also really good). If you are lucky enough to discover some of the beers in your local grocery store (try Wholefoods) pick up a few and give them a try… Mr Pineapple may just make a believer out of you too!

Comments
  1. mandalyn1117 says:

    I am not a huge fan of beer in general. However, if you like a pineapple beer, you may also enjoy Hornsby’s Crisp Apple Cider. So delicious and has more alcohol content by volume than beer. It’s my go to.

  2. Pineapple beer sounds so interesting!

  3. leamuse says:

    No beer for moi. Vin rouge s’il vous plait!

Leave any suggestions or comments!

