Slow Cooked Chicken & Mushroom.jpgA couple of weeks ago it snowed here in Phoenix. Now certain parts of Arizona get snow throughout the winter however Phoenix is not one of them! I was sitting in my office at work, looking out my window and white stuff started falling from the sky. J. thought this was the best thing ever, I however wasn’t impressed since I moved to Arizona to escape the craziness of Melbourne weather…

The snow however did inspire a hearty slow cooked chicken and mushroom recipe!

I made this one up as I went along but I was really happy with it.

First thing first I chopped up 4 large cloves of garlic, 2 large shallots and peeled about 20 small brown onions. I cut the onions in half as well.

J Doing Prep.jpg

In a frying pan I heated up about a tablespoon of olive oil and added some sprigs of fresh thyme. In small batches I then seared the chicken thighs. I had seasoned these first with salt and pepper. Skin side down first to get it nicely browned and crispy. I used 8 large chicken thighs for this recipe.

After these were all brown and crispy I set them aside… Note that I didn’t cook these all the way through.

I dug out our slowcooker from the back of our kitchen cabinet and set to work putting the deliciousness in. On the base I put fresh sprigs of thyme and rosemary. I then layered the chicken, the onions and freshly chopped mushrooms on top of that. I added more thyme and rosemary as I went. I used a mixture of Portobello and Button mushrooms for this – about 4 cups of mushrooms in total.

Browning Chicken.jpg

In the pan I had browned the chicken in I cooked the chopped garlic and shallots. When they had started to soften I deglazed the pan with 1 cup of white wine. I let this simmer for about 2 minutes before adding 2 cups of chicken stock and freshly cracked black pepper. Again I just let this simmer for a couple of minutes before carefully pouring it over the layers of chicken, onion and mushrooms in the slowcooker.

I put a couple of more thyme and rosemary sprigs on top before closing the lid and let is cook away for 4 hours.

Simmering sauce.jpg

The smell the permeated the house was just amazing… it made me sooo hungry for the entire afternoon.

When it was cooked I strained all the juices into a pan and let them reduce. While this was happening J. whipped up some quinoa for us to eat with the chicken. The juices became a thick, rich and yummy sauce which we poured over the tender, falling off the bone chicken, juicy mushrooms and delicious onions.  . Of course the skin didn’t stay crispy but it didn’t matter, it was still nice and brown though and tasty.

Stuffed slowcooker.jpgIt may not look so delicious but it tasted fantastic! Considering I made this up on the spot it was a huge success… J. loved it – really, really loved it. Which was a good thing since we had a huge amount to eat for lunches for the rest of the week. Finally an experimental success! And a perfect meal for those snowy? desert days!

Comments
  1. kimtheintern says:

    Sometimes I wish they could make smell-o-vision work, this looks incredible, what a great recipe.

  2. Create Grace says:

    I love coming in with a random recipe on the spot. I usually forget them, but this is a great way to keep track of those recipes you make on a whim! Thanks for sharing.

  3. Rustic Honey says:

    I’ve been looking for more slow-cooked meals and this looks awesome! Thanks for sharing! I wanted to also let you know I nominated you for the Liebster Award! Can’t wait to see your answers! http://rustichoney.com/2013/05/04/liebster-award/

  4. Tammy says:

    Wasn’t that snow the craziest? Hard to believe with today’s 90 degree temps. Did you go to Feast on the Street yesterday?

  5. aheenan2012 says:

    This looks delicious! I cannot wait to try it!

  6. lazybill says:

    Brilliant, sounds delicious. Sometimes the best recipes are the ones you conjure up on the spur of the moment.

  7. I want a slow cooker so bad, but it won’t fit in my tiny NYC kitchen. Every time I see a slow-cooker recipe on a blog I get tempted to shop for one! Looks delish 🙂

  8. Eva Taylor says:

    I’ve always been concerned to cook chicken in a slow cooker. Once you start cooking chicken you should never stop and set it aside for any length of time because that is when bacteria has a chance to grow. Get it into you preheated slow cooker right away.

  9. trangquynh says:

    wow, lovely dish, I’m suffering some cozy days here so this might be a good idea for warm and comfy food ^^

  10. Audrey says:

    Oh this looks like the perfect meal for a chilly day!
    I can hardly believe you guys got snow! Our little corner of northwest Washington has hardly seen a flake of the white stuff all winter.

  11. Yvonne says:

    The best part of our Arizona snow is that it looks so pretty falling and is gone in a couple of hours.

Leave any suggestions or comments!

