Banana Muffins.jpgJ. and I had a pretty lazy Sunday… we were in the kitchen making ourselves some crepes for breakfast and I noticed that a few of our bananas were looking a little worse for wear… Banana Muffin time!!!

A few years ago my mother discovered (I have no idea where she got them from) a bunch of recipes from the Australian Institute of Sport for low fat (or at least reduced fat) muffins! I love a good muffin and they are so often terribly bad for you so I have loved having this group of recipes. Plus they are really easy recipes to make.

So Sunday was banana muffin time.

In a large bowl I sifted 1½ cups of self-raising flour and 1 cup of wholemeal self-raising flour. If you don’t have wholemeal flour you can just use regular self-rasing for the entire amount. Next I stirred in ¾ cup of brown sugar. This was a little difficult because our brown sugar was really hard and didn’t stir through so well. I figured it didn’t matter so much because it would melt down in the oven.

I made a well in the centre of the dry ingredient and put them aside, set the oven for 350°F and started on the wet ingredients. In a small bowl I melted 2 tablespoons of margarine and then added to it my 2 very ripe bananas and mashed all of this together. I added to this 1 cup of skim milk, 1 egg and 1 teaspoon vanilla essence. I mixed this together well and then poured it into the dry ingredients.

Make sure you gently stir the ingredients together – there is no need to beat or whip it together. When it was completely combined I spooned the mixture into my greased muffin pans. I filled each up about 2 thirds of the way. And then into the oven they went for 20 minutes.

When they came out of the oven I let them sit for a few minutes in the pan to cool before tipping them out. We ate some straight away and they were so delicious. The great thing is this recipe makes about 16 muffins so J. and I had them for a snack at work every day this week! Yummy, delicious, and not too bad for you… Gotta love that!

Comments
  1. Hi, there, I might just try this recipe today. I have too many bananas at home than what my kids can finish. However, having a family who are picky eaters, it has to be less sugar, vegan or egg-free. So I have to substitute many of the ingredients like eggs to grounded flaxseed, cow’s milk to soymilk and maybe brown sugar to agave nectar or totally eliminate the sugar since the ripe bananas should be sweet enough?
    This is a nice blog and thanks for the recipe 🙂

  2. paol8tje says:

    You could also get rid of the sugar as a whole. In a recent experiment I substituted it with dates, the result was astonishing. Whether the first bite left me a bit uncertain at the second it was sure, dates are a better alternative than sugar. The first bite was rather disappointing because there weren’t any dates, but in a second try I chopped more finely and mixed better and the result was much better. If you’ll get over ripped bananas again and you don’t mind a bit experimenting I highly recommend it. Nice post, btw!

  3. […] Making Muffins out of Over Ripe Bananas […]

  4. This may just work (with only 2 Tbsp of fat I mean, by the way I’d use butter and not margarine) because bananas are such a wonderful ingredient. Interesting post!

  5. Vanessa says:

    Love it! If you don’t have time to use the over ripe bananas straight away…. I peel them and place them in a Ziplock bag in the freezer. They soften a lot when defrosted for use, but that’s ok because they bake just fine. 🙂

  6. Melisa R says:

    Luckily, I have some overripe bananas!

  7. naturalelle says:

    I really like this recipe. I am definitely going to make this over the weekend with the kids.

  8. amandagay says:

    I can never get ENOUGH bananas to be ripe at any given moment, but this recipe looks amazing! I might just get an extra bunch of bananas this weekend.
    You can always freeze some ripe bananas to make ice cream for the kids (just add a bit of milk and maybe some chocolate chips)!

  9. Cindy says:

    Once the bananas get dark spots no one in my house will touch them. So I find something to make with them instead of just tossing. Your muffins look good. I’ll have to write your recipe down so I can give it a try 😀

  10. judilyn says:

    Nice recipe with low fat. Will try them – love muffins, but don’t make them often because of the usual huge fat content.

  11. jeepnmom says:

    i can’t get bananas in my house to get that ripe. The monkeys in my house have them gone too quickly. Not that banana anything ever lasts more that a day either. I’m going to try the recipe though, I will just have to hide the bananas.

    Oh, and put a marshmallow in with your brown sugar. It keeps it soft. 🙂

  12. these look so good ! so glad i got some brown bananas to use up !

  13. perfectcrumb says:

    There’s always room for more speckled banana recipes! Thanks

  14. I’m about to make banana bread for the same reason. I think my family (husband and three little ones) purposely lets the bananas over-ripen, just so I make banana bread. As soon as the bread is out of the oven, it is gone in less than six hours. I don’t mind, it is pretty yummy!

  15. Sofia says:

    Thats a great idea for overripe bananas!

Leave any suggestions or comments!

