Green Goo.jpgWhen I was still living and working in Australia I worked next door to a cute, little cafe that made the most delicious broccoli soup. I know, it doesn’t sound appetizing at all. It was incredibly delicious though and I had managed to recreate this soup in my Melbourne kitchen sometime last year… my recreation was delicious… but I never wrote the recipe down!

I recently convince J. that it was delicious and he should let me make it since we were trying to get back to eating healthy after our time in Australia. Also just after we arrived home in Phoenix, Arizona went through it’s coldest week of whether in nearly 30 years… so soup was called for! Now J. hates broccoli so the fact that he said ok, was only because I told him I would make it super spicy for him. If only I had remembered the recipe.

In my large soup pot (that J. stole from his mum) I heated up about 2 tablespoons of olive and I added 2 large onions that I had diced, 6 cloves of garlic finely chopped and about 15 thai chillies… Yes, 15! We had had a batch of these chillies that were really mild and we needed that many just to get a little heat and since I promised super spicy I went with 15… What a mistake!

Once they had softened I added in 5 potatoes and 3 large heads of broccoli. I just covered it with chicken stock and let is simmer away for an hour. I used my stick blend to smooth it all out and I served…. Now I am not sure why I just told you the recipe because this was terrible!!! It was ridiculously spicy yet bland all at the same time.

J. ate it happily (though he poured 1/2 a bottle of sriracha into each bowl). I couldn’t eat it after the 3rd time… it got far too hot and it just tasted it horrible! I love spicy but this was unbearable…I don’t know what I did differently to the last time but it was spectacularly bad.This soup was just a green goo… we added fresh spring onions and tomato to it just before we ate it and I still couldn’t stomach it. There was so much that J. had to eat it for over a week!! I ate sandwiches…

J. kept telling me it was ok and he liked it… gotta love him! It was however a failure… probably the worst I have had in a while so I just had to share… NO MORE BROCCOLI SOUP FOR ME!

Comments
  1. lorchampagne says:

    Try using a courgette base instead of potato! It turns out great. I just posted a recipe, if you feel like giving it another go. πŸ˜‰ Experimentation is the key to aweomse discoveries though, dont let it deter you.

  2. I have a recipe for broccoli soup that might save the day for you. Let me find it and I’ll post it on my blog

  3. Sonya Milu says:

    I love your tag line! It is through our mistakes in the kitchen that we can create a masterpiece! Keep cooking! πŸ™‚ Thank you for visiting my blog πŸ™‚ I will try and post some soup recipes for you πŸ™‚

  4. vyvacious says:

    Haha oh no!! I hate when I forget a recipe!! That’s the worst!

  5. Lyle says:

    I am a fan of your blog and would like to nominate you for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award. If you wish to accept (and I won’t be offended if you don’t) here are the rules: 1) display the award logo, 2) link back to the person giving the award, 3) state 7 things about you, 4) list 15 blogs that you wish to nominate, 5) notify these bloggers of the award and the rules. Go here to see the person that awarded me: http://shopwithintent.com/ HAPPY BLOGGING

  6. pineapplest says:

    Led to a good blog post at least and bet you will nail it next time! Maybe you can try oven roasting broccoli, onions and potatoes first, to get a little extra unami without spice.

  7. Kristen says:

    at least you had the confidence to try something new! Hope this doesn’t deter you from experimenting again!

  8. Chef Randall says:

    Hey experiments create new recipes. But if the first is a flop you keep trying. Here’s a link to some soups I have made, you might like them. Link: https://www.dropbox.com/sh/u1f40tohmag9ica/LEpib5iyVR .

    Thanks for sharing. Look forward to your next post.
    Thanks always for your comments and readership to Savor the food. πŸ™‚

    Chef Randall
    savorthefood.wordpress.com

  9. Live and learn!! You may want to try added cheese (cheddar) to add some fat flavouring to it, and even a bit of cream, if you choose to try it again? πŸ™‚

  10. aumcchildren says:

    Failure is how we learn πŸ™‚ Keep failing and eventually you won’t lol. That is how I come up with great new recipes.

  11. Sorry to hear that… J. won’t like it for sure, but for yourself please give this ‘recipe’ a try. You’ll be amazed! Boil broccoli in lightly (!) salted water. Do not use too much water, just enough to barely cover the broccoli. Puree with immersion blender. Serve. That’s all! It is really good as is if you like broccoli, but of course you could enrich with extra virgin olive oil, freshly grated parmigiano reggiano, or spicy stuff. Just make sure to taste it pure first πŸ™‚

  12. What a bummer. But experimenting is the best way to learn technique and ingredient mixing do’s and don’ts! And J. gets an A+ because sriracha really does make everything taste better.

  13. that’s a shame! but at least you experimented and tried! i don’t think you should give up, keep trying!!!

  14. suth2 says:

    I am one of those cooks who will ONLY follow a recipe. I have insufficient confidence in my cooking to try anything without a recipe. I applaud you for trying to replicate the soup without the recipe.

  15. sallyhouben says:

    NOOOO! Don’t give up, the perfect broccoli soup recipe is out there!

  16. realfoodroad says:

    I think broccoli soup is delicious, too. Don’t give up on it, just find a different recipe, one that maybe makes a little less soup in case you don’t like it. πŸ˜‰

  17. bridsnyd10 says:

    That sucks but it happens… I love experimenting though. Along with trying new recipes and attempting to mimic recipes that you have already tried, there are the occasional failures. I recently attempted a few different recipes to make a sauce that my husband wanted and it didn’t turn out good at all (I had put way too much garlic in it this particular time) and the worst part about it was that I had made so much of it! I tried using some of it as a substitute for pizza sauce and it turned out delicious so I just split it up into a bunch of containers and froze them for pizza. My husband is great though. Like yours he gets stuck eating all of the leftovers that my daughter and I don’t like.

Leave any suggestions or comments!

