Prosciutto Salad.jpgNow that I am working I am finding less time to blog so I am still filling you all in on the wonderful food we ate in Australia back in December and early January. I am hoping I will get into a better blogging routine once I am used to working again! In the mean time I wanted to share a great salad we ate Christmas Eve in Australia.

This salad is a meal on its own but we were lucky enough to have it with some delicious Moreton Bay Bugs. These are a type of crayfish found in Queensland. They are one of my favorite types of seafood and something we traditionally have at Christmas time. We eat these plain… they don’t need to be boiled in spices or anything just cooked simply, cut down the middle and this time we served them with a mango chili mayonnaise. (Recipe for the mayonnaise to follow later).

Back to the salad.

In a large (and I mean LARGE!) salad bowl put a mixture of salad leaves. You can choose any kind you like, we did a mix of my parents’ home grown lettuce. Drain around 270 grams of semi dried tomatoes, make sure you keep the oil though because this becomes part of the dressing. Add the tomatoes to the salad leaves.Moreton Bay Bugs.jpg

Next, slice up 1 bunch of asparagus into about 1 inch lengths. Blanch these for a few minutes, but make sure they are still crunchy. Set them aside to cool.

Add to the salad bowl ¼ cup of pine nuts and 1 thinly sliced red onion. Finally add in the cooled asparagus and toss all the ingredients together.

Now the thing that makes this salad more like an entire meal is the topping. On top of the tossed ingredients the deliciousness is layered. First, pan fry 6 large slices of prosciutto. Break these up when cooked and layer them over the salad. The shave large pieces of fresh parmesan cheese over the top of the prosciutto and salad. I like to use a vegetable peeler to get the big chunky shavings of parmesan. Now, I know some people don’t like parmesan so you could use pecorino or even a mild Mango Chilli Mayonnaise.jpgcheese like swiss over the top.

The final part of this salad is the dressing, quite possibly the simplest dressing ever. In a bottle mix the drained oil from the tomatoes and 2 tablespoons of balsamic vinegar. Shake this well and then drizzle over the salad.

Serve and eat… It is such a delicious, hearty salad and I could eat it as a meal all by itself. The bugs were just an awesomely delicious bonus. The saltiness of the prosciutto and cheese with the crunchiness of the pine nuts is so yummy! The bugs dipped in the mayonnaise on the side was a perfect warm summer’s day lunch!

Comments
  1. Phew! I was praying that bugs were not the new “in” foody thing! I am not in that camp yet. Perhaps if covered in chocolate…Thanks for taking a peek at my blog post

  2. Mr. Wapojif says:

    OMG! Looks epic! Sadly I live nowhere near Queensland, so I will substitute the Moreton Bay Bugs with anything I can find in Piccadilly Gardens in central Manchester. Groovy, I say.

  3. judilyn says:

    Looks really good. The simple dressings are really the tastiest – not to overpower the delicateness of the salad itself.

  4. cookazido says:

    I love pine nuts in salad!

  5. Erin says:

    This looks delicious! We are still in winter dish weather here in Northern California, but I don’t think I will wait till it heats up to try.

  6. […] A Meal Worth of Salad with a Side of Bugs (lifeisshorteathard.wordpress.com) […]

  7. We call small langoustine beetles here, suppose they are all ‘insects of the sea’? – and very tasty they are too!

  8. suth2 says:

    We call them Balmain Bugs down in our neck of the woods and I agree they are to die for. Haven’t been able get any from our usual source this summer. Maybe soon.

  9. Oh, and I am a native Marylander (as in Maryland in the USA, home of the Chesapeake Bay), so eating crabs is nothing new to me.

  10. That sounds so yummy. I, too, thought there were actual bugs involved, well, worms, as in ‘meal worms’.

  11. Ha Ha ….Curiously thinking you were actually posting a dish with bugs, I’m happy to see it was seafood!

Leave any suggestions or comments!

