Wombok Salad.jpgI am a big fan of salad during the summer. When we were home in Australia Mum brought out some of my favorites. The one I want to share today was made the first Sunday we were home and some friends were coming up from Brisbane for lunch.

This is what I refer to as a Wombok Salad but it is probably more accurately called, Oriental Fried Noodle Salad . Sometimes I add roast chicken or pork to it but this day we had it as an accompaniment to Dad’s grilled lamb.

Now be careful… this is so easy you might just get it wrong!

Finely slice half of one large Wombok (or Chinese cabbage) until it is just above the base. The leaves around the base can get quite thick and bitter so I use a little but not all of that thicker part. Put all of this into a large salad bowl.

Then put 100 grams slivered almonds into a fry pan and gently brown them. I was kidding about the whole be careful because it’s so simple but the number of times I have got distracted and burnt my almonds is unbelievable. When browned just take these off the heat and let them cool.

Meanwhile, chop up 6 green onions (spring onions), these don’t have to be too fine but don’t do giant chunks either. I usually cut them around ¼ of an inch long. When cut throw these into the salad bowl with the wombok.

Next up is to make the dressing. In a bottle put ¼ cup of white vinegar, 1 tablespoon of light soy sauce, 2 teaspoons of sesame oil and ½ a cup of olive oil. Close the bottle and shake furiously!

Just before you are ready to serve throw in 1 small packet of fried noodles, the almonds and then pour the dressing over the top. Gently mix everything together and it is ready to serve.

I love this salad… It is one J likes too which is always good. I could eat this without anything else for lunch anytime. It was great however with Dad’s lamb… so delicious. This was just the start of the feast my parents put on for us when we were home!

P.S. Check out the salad bowl we used in the photo… very cool!

Comments
  1. […] Quick & Delicious Summer Salad (lifeisshorteathard.wordpress.com) […]

  2. Vanessa says:

    I love that you mention your parents so often in your blogs they have obviously nurtered your love of food….

  3. suth2 says:

    This is one of my favourite salads too. I first had it when my daughter made it.

  4. Great bowl! This looks so good!

  5. I was just thinking today how I was getting bored of my roasted vegetables. Will pick up a head of the cabbage tomorrow and make this up! Thanks!

  6. An Australian BBQ staple. I love this salad too. So easy and delicious.

  7. yum that salad looks good, love cabbage salads!

  8. […] I am a big fan of salad during the summer. When we were home in Australia Mum brought out some of mysource […]

  9. My first thought was summer salad now?! then I realized where you are. Hahaha. Over this neck of the wood, it is called Chinese chicken salad. I have not tried it with lamb though.

  10. A favorite of mine too. In our family we call it Aunt Lola’s Chinese Cabbage Salad. Not very original but very good! 😉

Leave any suggestions or comments!

