Chicken Club.jpgLast week I finally got my work visa which means that I am allowed to start working at the job I got all the way back in August. This is a huge thing for me and I am excited and am looking forward to getting back to work. To start off my time at my new work I attended their Christmas lunch on Tuesday and have now set off on a two week vacation to Australia. Not a bad way to start a new job, with some very understanding bosses.

Anyway back to the food. On Tuesday we went to lunch in Scottsdale (near the new office) at a place called Cask 63. There were only 5 of us in attendance but we had a great time. J. and I as always looked at the menu on the weekend before trying to decide what I should eat when I got there. I had planned on having the Redbirds Farm Grilled Chicken Club. I do like a good club sandwich and being new I didn’t want to go the most expensive thing on the menu or the largest, most decadent thing.

No surprises, I ordered the club… even though there were lots of other delicious things on the menu.

This club was tomato, lettuce, Nueske’s bacon, Chipotle aioli on a brioche bun. Now I didn’t know what Nueske’s bacon was so I had to Google it. Apparently they are famous for being the original apple wood smoked bacon… You learn something every day.

It was a huge sandwich with a massive side of crisp parmesan fries. It was quite delicious. I must admit I probably enjoyed the fries more than the sandwich. The bacon and aioli were really yummy but the chicken was a little plain and dry… it wasn’t bad, just not the best club sandwich I have ever eaten…

The fries however were a different story. Beautifully crispy, they were covered in parmesan, yet weren’t too rich or cheesy to devour. I do like a good fry and they did a great job at this place. There were so many of them, I couldn’t even finish them.

Overall it was a fun and yummy lunch… I would go back just for the fries. What a great way to start off my Christmas vacation… not to mention my new career! Merry Christmas to me!

P.S. I am on vacation so won’t be posting as much until I get back to the US in January.

Comments
  1. I love Scottsdale; it is the only place I ever enjoyed being a real ‘tourist’! There was great food out there the couple of times I visited.It’s been a long time. Congrats on your visa.

  2. Lebinh says:

    those parmesan fries sure look tasty! congrats with the new job!

  3. Tom Belte says:

    Congratulations, the fries do look delicious I must admit. It’s so rare to get properly seasoned fries now, it’s just salt that restaurants season with where as I like my fries with cayenne/paprika or a good spice mix. Parmesan though, never crossed my mind !!

  4. Congrats on the new job! Those fries look delicious. I’ve never tried parmesan crusted fries. French fries are always my favorite part- an order of fries for lunch? Sounds good to me. 🙂

  5. Preveena says:

    The parmesan fries look mouthwatering

  6. aumcchildren says:

    That looks DEEEE- Lish!

  7. Those fries got my immediate attention! They look spectacular… Hope you have a wonderful Christmas with your family, and catch you NEXT YEAR (it’s so weird saying that). 🙂

Leave any suggestions or comments!

