Roasted tomatoes and mushrooms.jpgJ. and I decided we would have our own little private Christmas celebration yesterday. This way we didn’t have to cart presents to Australia and we get to continue some of our own traditions.

As part of our early Christmas celebration J and I wanted some roasted vegetables with our lamb (post still to come). Usually when were are having a roast dinner, whether it is chicken, pork, beef or lamb we go with the traditional roast veggies, pumpkin, sweet potato and potatoes. We had already decided to do something different with the potatoes (again, stay tuned for that delicious entry!) so I had to come up with something new for our other vegetables.

Now, I love J. and he eats pretty much anything I put in front of him but when it comes to vegetables he hasn’t really progressed in the last thirty years. Sorry, that may be a little unfair, he eats salads now if we drench them in dressing and I have also convinced him sweet potato is delicious when covered in gravy… it’s all about small steps.

So in the endeavour to make something he would happily eat I really had to think. In the end I made Roast Tomatoes with mushrooms and red onion.

First I cut 7 delicious red roma tomatoes in half length way, laying them skin side down in an oven proof dish. I peeled, quartered, and then quartered again a large red onion. While wiping away the tears (I react really badly to cutting onions) I scattered them around the tomatoes. I then washed and dries a small container of button mushrooms and scattered these around the tomatoes and onions.Onions and rosemary on top.jpg

That is all the vegetables so now for some additional flavor. I peeled and halved 4 cloves of garlic and put these into the dish. I broke up 2 large rosemary sprigs and scattered those across too. Lastly I seasoned with salt and pepper, quite generously before drizzling olive oil across everything.

I put these into a 420F degree oven for 30 minutes.

When these came out they smelt delicious. The tomatoes had somehow become sweeter and more tomatoey. The onions though softened had held their shape and taken on the tomato and rosemary flavor. The mushrooms were juicy and delicious. Then it was the critics turn to try them.

J. thought they were excellent and really enjoyed the medley of vegetables. I like this recipe because compared to other vegetables it is quick and doesn’t take hours of peeling… I really hate doing that sometimes. I was happy with the outcome and now have another type of roasted vegetables I can make that J. will love!

Comments
  1. […] of their recipes that would be perfect for the occasion. Here is the link to their original recipe: https://lifeisshorteathard.wordpress.com/2012/12/16/a-different-kind-of-roast-vegetables/.  You should definitely check their blog out when you have the time. The blog is called “Life […]

  2. wagoo1 says:

    DiabeticMealPlanner here, If you ever want any of your fantastic dishes worked into a great, well balanced meal, just send the recipe(s) and I will work on it for you. Great blog.

  3. Liz says:

    Love roasted veg–so pretty:-) And yours look very holiday-ish with the red! Appreciate you stopping by foodforfun for the teacher bread bake. Thanks for the visit.

  4. imaksimize says:

    Reblogged this on imaKSimize and commented:
    Yum! Love roasted veggies.

  5. mikedkay says:

    Yummy! I miss well-roasted veggies.

  6. andmorefood says:

    slow roasting the tomatoes will also make them nearly as intense as ketchup = really good!

  7. these look so good ! i love roasting veggies

  8. M.R. says:

    Oh, lovely stuff! – brought a smile to the old visage!

  9. csamom says:

    That looks lovely. I will try this with volunteer tomatoes next year.

    When chopping onions, I light a candle near where I am chopping. I don’t remember wher that tip came from, but I haven’t cried chopping onions since.

  10. naturaleuphoria says:

    Looks freshly delicious! 🙂

  11. expatchef says:

    roasting veggies always makes them more delicious in my book! Next time, when you’re cutting onions, try rinsing them with water when you cut in half before you start chopping etc. It won’t keep you from tearing, but it will be much better, I promise!

  12. Yum! TC does roasted vegetable regularly for us – aubergine makes a yummy addition, along with scattering some feta over just before they are cooked, delicious 🙂

  13. Looks delicious!!
    -JulieC

  14. vyvacious says:

    Looks simple and delicious!

  15. Jennifer Szescula Flanagan says:

    I love roasting vegetabes (especially in this cold weather!) but always forget about it – thanks for the reminder – they look wonderful!

Leave any suggestions or comments!

