Shortbread cookies.jpgWe leave for Australia in a week and I wanted to make sure I gave our friends each something special for Christmas before we left. I thought this year since I had the time I would make them all gifts. I spent the weekend baking and cooking for our friends and for us. All of this so I could make little gourmet gift boxes for everyone. J. actually woke up Sunday morning, walked into the kitchen and couldn’t believe the disaster area I had going. I was making 3 different recipes at the same time so it got a little crazy!

First up, I wanted to make something very Christmassy so I decided on shortbread Christmas trees as one of the goodies. IButter.jpg really like shortbread, the melt in your mouth quality of a good piece of shortbread is unbelievable. I only make it at this time of year because it is so incredibly bad for you!

To start I beat 500 grams of softened, unsalted butter in a large bowl. Keep beating this until it is light and fluffy. To the butter I added 1 cup of sifted confectioners sugar. The trick here it to beat all of the sugar and butter together without getting covered in a fine dust of sugar… I did not succeed.

Mixing it all together.jpg

When the butter and sugar has been combined I sifted 2 cups of rice flour and 1 ¾ cups of plain flour into the bowl. If you want to go gluten free you can certainly just use rice flour but they are very delicate. I went with the recipe Mum had given me. When the flour was all sifted I began folding it into the butter and sugar mixture. This can take quite a bit of time and work. Don’t worry if it seems like it won’t come together, it does eventually.

When it had started forming a ball I got in there with my hands and kneaded it all Dough.jpgtogether for a few minutes until it was nice and smooth. Traditionally you would press the dough out into the pan you were going to cook it in. However I wanted to make shaped cookies so I turned the dough out on to a floured surface and rolled it out until it was about 1cm thick.

Make sure you use lots of extra flour for rolling and cutting because this is a sticky dough. I then just proceeded to use my cookie cutter to cut out the trees. Placing each cooking onto the greased cookie tray. You can put them reasonably close together because they don’t rise Cookie Cutter.jpgor spread too much. Before putting the cookies in the oven I pricked them all a few times with a fork, I actually made them look like lights on the trees instead of just random holes.

Then they went into a 285F degree oven for 35 minutes. Keep an eye on them though because they can brown quickly. Once cooked I removed them from the tray and let them cool. This recipe made 50 large Christmas tree cookies so it goes a long way.

J. and I had a couple and loved them. They aren’t too sweet which I like and the texture is Ready for the oven.jpgamazing. J’s workmates also really enjoyed them when he took them into the office on Monday. They are really easy to make and relatively quick, and so yummy and delicious.

I put a few of these in each of the boxes and gift bags I was making, with a few left for us to share. I think they look great! As for the chocolate balls in the photo that you see, well that is Friday’s recipe! I did have fun playing Santa this week though.

Edible gifts.jpg

Comments
  1. These look delicious and I love the gift box idea! I’m making some Christmas-sy gingernuts today and you’ve inspired me to package them up in a similar way! Thanks for stopping by and following TheYorkshireTart and I wish you a very Merry Christmas! TYT.

  2. Wonderful idea to add to my Christmas hampers for friends and family. Thanks!

  3. rosebudpud says:

    The boxes are lovely! I just made some Christmas Biscuits and was thinking of creative ways to pack them…only got as far as cellophane and ribbons!

  4. sugaredpecan says:

    Hi! Thanks for the follow! I love this kind of cookie, can’t wait to try them!!

  5. cocosutch says:

    Oh my! Might need to give this a whirl. Getting excited to start Christmas baking and blogging! Have a great trip!

  6. paulheels says:

    Shortbread!!! Us hefty folk love some shortbread!

  7. Mandy says:

    I’ve been looking for a good shortbread recipe!

  8. Yum! these look so good and so easy.. and the boxes are so cute!

  9. Francesca says:

    Your whole gift package looks awesome: the cookies and the box are really lovely.

  10. Darling! Look very good…and have a great time time when you are ‘home’!

  11. Irene says:

    These trees are super cute! And they are shortbread! Shortbread is one of my guilty pleasures 🙂

  12. How exciting you are coming home in not that many days away! These cookies are so cute and who doesn’t like be given something like this for Christmas?! Love it 🙂

  13. Sally Scott says:

    Melt-in-your-mouth yumminess! I certainly agree. And you can’t eat just one. 🙂 (PS–I was privileged to be on the recipients of said gift boxes.)

  14. mawarre says:

    On my agenda for this weekend! Have a great trip home to Australia for the holidays.

  15. eclecticlamb says:

    This looks great! I love shortbread.

  16. Alex Katzen says:

    These look great! What a good idea to make cookies for Christmas gifts. Happy holidays!! 🙂

Leave any suggestions or comments!

