Lasange.jpgThis is part 2 of my Best Kind of Recipes… the first I shared yesterday. Today’s blog is about the delicious lasagne you can make with that yummy Bolognese sauce I wrote about yesterday.

I love this lasagne and it is so often my go to when I have people over for dinner. Everyone enjoys it and it makes such a large amount it is perfect for dinner parties. I have shared this recipe with so many people and now I am sharing it with you.

After you have made your meat sauce, as per yesterday’s blog. The next step is to make the cheese sauce.

In a pot slowly heat 2 1/2 cups of milk. Add 2 tablespoons of butter to the milk and let it melt as the milk heats. Milk & Butter.jpgSlowly bring the milk to a boil, while this is happening mix 2 tablespoons of corn starch with cold water until is a runny paste.

Once the milk has started to boil, pour in the corn starch mixture and stir until the milk has thickened. When it is thick remove from the heat immediately. Here I add lots of cheese, usually around 2 cups. You can add any kind you like but this time around I added a mix of sharp cheddar, Parmesan and mozzarella cheeses. This makes it very cheesy and full of flavor.

Cheese & pepper.jpgAt this stage I also add lots of freshly ground black pepper. I mix all this through until the cheese has melted and set it aside.

People prepare the lasagne noodles in lots of different ways. I seldom pre-cook mine in boiling water because it is just another step in a long process and I also don’t find that my noodles come out too tough. Since I wasn’t precooking my noodles, I was ready to assemble my lasagne.Meat layer.jpg

In a large oven proof pan, I use a big Pyrex dish and I put down a layer of the meat sauce. My first layer is about ½ an inch thick and completely covers the bottom of the dish. Next is a layer of noodles. I overlap them slightly and make sure I break pieces to fit and cover the meat. I then pour 1/3 of the cheese sauce over the noodles, spreading it out so it covers evenly and seeps down Pasta layer.jpgthe edges. This is 1 layer done.

In my pan I repeat this process 3 times, if your pan isn’t as deep twice is certainly enough. The meat layers the 2nd and 3rd times don’t have to be as thick and I don’t usually worry about having the entire thing covered… a few gaps doesn’t hurt.

When I had completed the final layer of cheese sauce I usually scrap out the Cheese sauce layer.jpglast of the meat sauce and sprinkle it over the top. A few pieces here and there that when cooked will get nice and crunchy. On top of this I then sprinkle freshly grated Parmesan cheese. Though you can use any cheese you have handy and it will be fine.

That’s it! I then put it in the oven for 40 minutes at 400F degrees. This is when the smell permeates the entire house and I feel like I am home with Mum and Dad! It smells unbelievably but tastes even better!

Top layers.jpgWhen it comes out of the oven I usually let it sit for about 20 minutes to settle. It is usually too hot to eat right away. Often it is even better the following day when it has really settled. I serve it with a fresh salad and some garlic bread on the side and we are in heaven.

Make this for your friends, your family or even just for yourself. It freezes really well, we have a whole lasagne in our fridge now for when we get back from vacation. Get creative, add in some dollops of ricotta cheese after each cheese layer, it is delicious too! Let me know if you give it a try because I promise it won’t disappoint.

P.S. Ladies, make this for the man in your life because I am pretty sure J. stays with me for my lasagne!

Comments
  1. […] Year’s Eve Dinner.  Thanx to my blogger friend in Life is Short, Eat Hard for sharing his best of the best lasagna recipe! I followed the recipe to the letter and it came out like this ( first photo ) […]

  2. I make bechamel for other things this my Italian grandmothers way of making lasagne and in our family it is traditional.

  3. Oh…my…God, this looks amazing!

  4. taishinana says:

    I love lasagne. I am tired to eat the frozen or the ones with too sour sauce. Yours sounds yummy. I will get the receipt. Thanks for sharing and thanks for liking my post 🙂

  5. yummm looks delicious, can you do a best of the best nachos dish?

  6. Ali says:

    Looks great! I love lasagna but it’s not a dish I ever make!

  7. kz says:

    thanks for sharing this! perfect for Christmas eve dinner^^

  8. vyvacious says:

    “Make this for your friends, your family or even just for yourself” <– I read this line and immediately imagined me in my PJs and fuzzy socks digging into an entire pan of lasagne with a fork. Sounds like an awesome lazy weekend that I'll have to plan sometime soon!

  9. bcorbett907 says:

    Look forward to seeing more of your great recipes

  10. Wow, that looks seriously tasty. Food of the Gods!

  11. caseylee18 says:

    looks good! going to have to try this for holiday dinners!

  12. paulheels says:

    I cook mine similar. But I put the noodles of the bottom. I’m gonna try meat then noodles next time. Looks awesome!

  13. I am sure he stays with you for more than just your lasagne – but its a good trick! I have a favourite lasagne recipe which i’m pretty faithful too – but I think i will have to stray as this looks far more simple and just as delcious!

  14. Start to finish, how much time did this take? Great job by the way.

Leave any suggestions or comments!

