Chicken & Mushroom noodle soup.jpgLast night I was craving chicken soup. Every time we go to Vegas it feels like both J. and I come down with the flu or a cold. With our trip home to Australia only 2 weeks away we are worried about getting sick and we need to chase away any chance of illness. I think this is why I was craving some chicken soup.

This soup is a twist on your regular chicken noodle soup and the way we make it it also has some kick to it.

In a large soup pot I heated about 2 tablespoons of canola oil. To the hot oil I added 4 large cloves of garlic that I had chopped finely. I also added 1 finely sliced brown onion. I let this cook for a minute to soften.

Chicken browning.jpg

While that is cooking I skin 4 large chicken thighs that are still on the bones. After removing the skin I cut the thighs into nigh chunks, leaving the bones in and then added this to the onion and garlic. I took a few minutes to brown the chicken well in the pot.

When the chicken was brown I added 1/2 a cup of chicken stock to deglaze the pot. When the yummy goodness had been removed from the bottom of the pot I added 3 1/2 more cups of chicken stock and 2 cups of water. I brought all of this to a boil and then reduced the heat to let it simmer for Broth.jpg30 minutes.

When it had simmered for the 30 minutes I added in 300 grams of mushrooms. You can use any mushrooms you like but I used a mix of button, oysters and enoki mushrooms in ours. I like to have variety and not just the one kind. I then let this simmer for about 5 minutes to cook the mushrooms. While these are cooking you may need to remove the chicken and break up any large pieces. I did this and then added it all back to the pot, bones included.

After the mushrooms had cooked a little I brought the soup back to a boil and added 1 large packet of egg noodles. These don’t take long to cook so I turned the heat off and stirred them through for a couple of minutes. The last thing to do was add a bunch of green onion, already chopped and mix it through the soup… Now it is ready to serve.

Soup.jpg

We serve this with a stack of noodles on the bottom and then spoon the broth, mushrooms and chicken over the top. To add the required kick we like we actually add to each bowl of soup a spoonful of Chinese Chili & Garlic in Oil. J. probably adds 2 spoonfuls if not more… 1 is plenty for me. This just adds some spice but isn’t necessary at all. The soup by itself is full of flavor.

J ate two giant bowls of this last night, I ate two much smaller bowls. After the first spoonful I felt my craving disappear. It is such a simple soup but incredibly hearty and warms you right down to your toes! We have a giant pot of this sitting in our fridge for the rest of the week’s dinners… I am sure that by the time we get to the bottom of the pot not only will my worries have been chased away but any chance of either of us getting sick will be gone. Yay!

Comments
  1. whitsendmom says:

    Sounds like the perfect soup for this family. We are heading into the cold season and need all the ammunition we can get.

  2. This looks and sounds amazing. Can’t wait to try it!

  3. Thank you for clicking on my blog. Your soup recipe looks yummy!

  4. rkutchjm says:

    I can just taste it in my mind. Have to try this soon. Thank you.

  5. ilovelucca says:

    yum but i thought you had written soup to chase away your wife!!! god, i am going mad…

  6. That looks amazing! Going to have to try it.

  7. Jennifer Szescula Flanagan says:

    Wow – this looks really good and pretty simple. I have always been afraid to make my own but I might now. Thanks!

  8. Thanks for liking my latest blog posts! Your recipes look fantastic…I’ll definitely be trying them out at my next dinner party. Thanks for stopping by and I look forward to trying out your delicious concoctions!

  9. vyvacious says:

    This sounds so good!! I especially love enoki mushrooms so thumbs up for including it in your worry-free soup! đŸ™‚

  10. teamdesouza says:

    I’m a huge chicken soup fan, and this looks awesome! cheers.

  11. Chef Randall says:

    looks good. I just got done eating Chicken Enchilada Soup, with two White Chocolate/Macadamian Nut Cookies and Chi tea over ice.

    Chef Randall
    savorthefood.wordpress.com

  12. Just reading about this makes me feel better!

  13. My French Heaven says:

    This looks absolutely delicious!!

  14. juliabarrett says:

    Looks delicious. Perfect for keeping colds at bay.

Leave any suggestions or comments!

