We are heading to Las Vegas for the weekend and are actually driving for the first time. We usually fly but 4 of us a piling in the car and driving up later today. In preparation for our 6 hour road trip to Vegas I made some sweet snacks for me and the boys. I wanted to make something quick and easy to eat. I had introduced J. to “slices” back in Australia, they seemed like a foreign concept to him. There are all kinds of slices, lemon, custard, chocolate, coconut… just to name a few. I decided I would make a Passionfruit and Coconut Slice to class up what was definitely going to be an interesting road trip.

This was something I had never made J. before and simple enough that his 2 mates who were road tripping with us wouldn’t be scared to try it out.

In a large bowl I combined all the dried ingredients… 3/4 cup of sugar, 1 cup of self-raising flour, and 1 cup of coconut. I mixed these well so they were thoroughly combined.

While I was doing that I was melting 125 grams of butter on the stove. Which I added to the dry ingredients when it had completely melted. After stirring this in I added 2 eggs that I had beaten separately before adding and last thing to go in was 1/2 cup of milk.

When all of this was stirred together I poured the mixture into a lined and greased pyrex dish. Again this is because we don’t have a slice tin or brownie pan which I would normally make this in. I then put it into a 350F degree oven for 25 minutes.

When the slice was in the oven I prepared the passionfruit part of the slice… Passionfruit Butter Cream. This is so easy and probably one of the best butter creams I make. 2 cups of confectioners sugar combined with 2 heaped tablespoons of butter and 1/2 a cup of passionfruit nectar. I had the passionfruit nectar left over in the freezer from the pavlova I made a whileback. I mixed this together until completely combined and put it in the fridge to set for a little while.

When the slice was cooked I took it out of the dish and let it cool. Once cool I spread the butter cream across the top and allow it to set. I had toasted some coconut earlier and sprinkled a little of this across the top to make it look pretty.

I then just cut it up into bite size pieces and pack it up for the road trip later today. I taste tested a piece of course to make sure it tasted ok. I think it was yummy… I like the coconut and passionfruit combination and the toasted coconut on top breaks up the sweetness of the passionfruit butter cream. I liked it a lot but I will have to let you know what the boys thought of it. Time to pack now.

Comments
  1. My favourite fruit, hope to give it a try – if I can get a hold of some.

  2. snati001 says:

    Have fun at Las Vegas! In September, we tried to get a reservation for Gordon Ramsey Steak the day before, but they were booked. lol. Never had a slice before, but this is inspiring me to try one.

  3. sarafoley says:

    Yum! I love the Aussie slice – so easy. This looks wonderful, I’ll give it a go for sure!

  4. oh my goodness – what a great combo, passion fruit and coconut! I’m not a good baker which is why I hardly ever blog about it…but I think this is something I will have to try! Have fun on your road trip 🙂

Leave any suggestions or comments!

