When J. and I were discussing what we should cook for the Thanksgiving holiday we decided not to go down the usual, traditional route. I have never cooked a turkey and Thanksgiving is not going to be my first time trying. We decided on really simple sides of green peas, corn and a potato gratin to go with roast chicken. We wanted to relax for most of the day, not spend the entire day in the kitchen.

I had made this gratin a few time before for J. and he absolutely loves it so it was an easy choice. I woke up really early Thanksgiving morning so when J. finally woke up he found my elbow deep in potatoes!

The twist to my gratin is the layers of my secret ingredient between the potato layers. It isn’t terribly exciting but my secret ingredient is caramelized red onions… my onions though are caramelized in bacon fat just to make them incredibly delicious.

So first thing first I slice up the 3 large red onions and throw them into some bacon fat to start caramelizing…. this always takes longer than I expect so it is good to get it started straight away.

Next up, I thinly sliced up 3 really large russet potatoes. I would love to have a mandolin for things like this but it was just me, my trusty knife and a very slow and careful pace. Last thing I wanted was a trip to the emergency room Thanksgiving Day. I also made sure to keep stirring and checking on the onions, I didn’t want them to burn on the bottom.

In a bowl I mixed 1 cup of full cream, garlic salt and pepper. I like to season the cream before putting it with the potatoes because otherwise I find the whole gratin just tastes unseasoned.

I then started layering the potatoes on the base of our pyrex dish. Only slightly overlapping them. When the first layer was down I put a layer of the caramelized onions. I figured I would get 4 layers of potatoes which meant I needed to divide the onion in three. After I had spread the onions out I started on the next layer of potatoes… Then I just repeated.

I finished with a layer of potatoes on the top. Then I gently poured the seasoned cream over the entire dish of potatoes and onion. The cream doesn’t cover the potatoes completely, just most of it. Last thing to do was to sprinkle the top with some cheese and slip it into a 400F degree oven for 45 minutes.

I made this nice and early and then just reheated it later on in the evening when we were ready to have dinner. I was really happy with this. It is such a filling dish but the onions combined with the creamy potatoes and cheese are just delicious! We have heaps of leftovers of this one and J. will be having it for lunches this week. He really enjoys it so that is a good thing. It was a nice change to the traditional roast potatoes we would normally do with roast chicken.

Stay tuned for the chicken recipe!

Comments
  1. […] this past weekend to redeem it! The meal he chose was scallops, followed by roast lamb and potato gratin and then panna cotta for dessert. He really didn’t have any preference for how I cooked the […]

  2. Cameron says:

    That looks delicious! I’m going to have to add this to my ‘must try’ list!

  3. Sounds and looks so great!

  4. paulheels says:

    Awesome! One of my favorite foods. And your use of bacon grease is superb!

  5. Love your twist. I’ve been baking gratins, but wouldn’t have thought to caramelise the onions. Will have to try that, as I love ’em!

  6. wooooooooooooooow i’m drooling into my keyboard, i hope my boss doesn’t walk past.

  7. Katie says:

    I was immediately drawn in by your title on this one. Potato gratin is okay… but it really NEEDS a twist! Looks tasty!

  8. juliabarrett says:

    I did red fingerling potatoes with caramelized crispy shallots. Crispy any type of oniony thing is yummy.

  9. vyvacious says:

    Mmm this looks fantastic! I love the addition of the caramelized onions in bacon fat!

  10. It has been ages since I made a gratin – but after having read your post and seeing how delicious it looks, I think it will have to be on the menu this weekend! Love the caramalised onion…and lets be honest….EVERYTHING tastes better with bacon fat 🙂

  11. That sounds delicious! I will have to try it.

Leave any suggestions or comments!

