J’s Second Contribution… and his relationship advice!

Fellas… let me tell you about one of the greatest pasta dishes you need to memorize. Keep it as an ace in the hole, or use it as a pulled rabbit from the hat when you need to impress your lady. It’s so versatile that you can even use it to say sorry, make up for not putting the toilet seat down, or to barter out of doing the laundry for a while. Pasta Carbonara has to be one of the easiest but most delicious pasta dishes out there… the ultimate comfort food.

You’ll need:

-1lb of spaghetti (I used the whole wheat kind)

-1 cup of grated parmesan

-several cloves of garlic, chopped

-2 eggs

-several strips of pancetta (I live in AZ, so that’s not exactly readily available as I have no idea where the nearest Italian grocery/deli is, so bacon is completely acceptable)

-olive oil

-ground black pepper

-chopped parsley for garnish

Render down the pancetta (or bacon) in a pan with olive oil. Meanwhile, bring a pot of water to a boil to cook the pasta, making sure to salt the water as it begins to form a running boil. As the pancetta/bacon begins to crisp up, add the chopped garlic cloves (I use about 4) watching it to make sure it doesn’t burn.

Cook the pasta al dente since you’ll be finishing it in the same pan the garlic and pancetta/bacon are in. In a small bowl, mix together two eggs and a cup of parmesan and make sure there aren’t any lumps. Add some pasta water (very little by little since you don’t want scrambled eggs) to get the egg/cheese mixture to the consistency you like. I like mine to be about the same consistency as rice porridge.

Drain the pasta thoroughly and add it back to the pan with the pancetta/bacon and garlic, mixing together thoroughly to make sure the rendered fat and olive oil cover the pasta completely. Remove from the heat and mix in the egg/cheese mixture, tossing the pasta for an even coating. Be sure to add plenty of fresh cracked black pepper along with some dried parsley for garnish.

C. made some amazing garlic bread to go with this which went great to balance things out along with a glass of red wine. I unfortunately don’t drink rotten grape juice so I stuck with iced tea. There were a few servings left over for lunch at the office which were consumed with much satisfaction.

So fellas… the next time you need something pulled out of thin air to save your hides, whip this up in the kitchen and you can thank me later. Trust me with this, C. is half Italian and is as fussy about Italian food as I am about Korean and she loved this so much I haven’t had to do laundry for weeks.

Comments
  1. URL says:

    … [Trackback]…

    […] Read More: lifeisshorteathard.wordpress.com/2012/11/26/how-to-impress-your-12-italian-girlfriend-with-pasta/ […]…

  2. Fantastic post, love a good pasta dish. Hmm I don’t know if its enough to let my boyfriend off for leaving the toilet seat up! But its worth a try. Steph

  3. haha awesome this is my favourite dish, it’s amazing! you should also try nigella lawson’s pancetta spaghetti, it’s delicious!

  4. It would have to be pretty special to get out of doing the laundry…looks great πŸ™‚

  5. artisticmilestone says:

    thanks for sharing this, looks easy and delish πŸ™‚

  6. daviddeefe says:

    You see, you just make me hungry

  7. vyvacious says:

    Mmm, pasta carbonara is one of my favorite pastas!!

  8. Eva says:

    My Italian partner makes this for me all the time! So good!!!

    American prosciutto isn’t nearly as good as what you’re used to in Australia (it can’t be aged the same way and it usually ends up sliced thicker), but it’s a reasonable substitue for pancetta.

  9. sarafoley says:

    Oh, this looks delicious. I have yet to make a cabonara that i could eat. I dunno, they always taste so damn eggy. My husband would love this.

  10. leilra says:

    Oh my goodness….I love spaghetti!

  11. zanzanaglob says:

    Even 100% Italian girls would be happy! πŸ™‚

  12. I agree, the ultimate comfort food. I love it!

  13. Ariella says:

    This sound amazing! I’ll definitely have to try this out really soon. You can get pancetta at Trader Joe’s if you happen to live near one. You can also use prosciutto, which is generally sold at most grocery store delis. I moved from NY to NC so finding anything Italian is also a bit tricky.

Leave any suggestions or comments!

