We are still getting over our Thanksgiving Day feast, so I am not ready to talk about what I cooked… I need my system to process it before I can even think about it again. I thought that I might share what I made J. and I for dinner Thanksgiving Eve instead.

Over the last couple of years we have started a tradition of having a seafood feast on Christmas Eve and Thanksgiving Eve to start our celebration early! This year we wanted to make Chilli Crab but unfortunately we couldn’t get any of the fresh crab we wanted. So I convinced J. that we should have chilli mussels instead. Only problem, I was going to be making this one up! We bought 2 1/4 pounds of cleaned mussels and headed home!

At home I set J. to work de-bearding the mussels while I prepared everything else. I finely minced 4 cloves garlic and 1 large shallot. I had 2 tablespoons of hot olive oil in a large pot heating and I added the shallot and garlic to the oil to sauté.

As these were softening I diced up 1 red jalapeno chilli and 2 thai chillies and then added these to the garlic and shallots. Lastly I finely chopped 1/2 a cup of parsley and added half to the pot. I let this cook for just a minute before I added the mussels. These of course had been beautifully de-bearded by J.

I mixed the mussels and the other ingredients so they were so evenly combined. Now it was time to add in all of the liquids. First I added 1 cup of white wine and let it deglaze the pot a little. Then I added 1 cup of chicken stock and mixed everything together again, being gentle so I didn’t crack the mussel shells. I let the liquid come up to a simmer and then covered everything to let the mussels steam.

It only took a couple of minutes for the mussels to open. Once they had I added 1/2 a cup of cream and the rest of the parsley. I gently mixed all of this together for another minute before serving it up in large bowls with some crusty bread on the side.

We sat to eat and it smelt fantastic. The combination of the tiniest bit of spice and the mussels was just perfect. J. was soooo happy with this. The broth was delicious and dipping the bread into it was perfect. I thought the mussels were cooked perfectly, still plump and juicy! The other good thing is that though we were both full at the end of dinner it wasn’t so heavy that we wouldn’t be full Thanksgiving Day.

I love to experiment and a lot of the time they don’t turn out the way I had imagined but this time around they were better than I could have hoped for!!!

Comments
  1. evandaestes says:

    I need to make this ASAP! I have not had time to eat and this made me super hungry!!!

  2. Hi and thanks for liking my little blog! I look forward to reading about your cooking adventures on another continent too 🙂

  3. nurulthecook says:

    You can get all sorts of mussels and oysters here. I’ve never made them myself but am dying to try. Thanks!! 🙂

  4. Anita Mac says:

    We used to do the anti-turkey sushi for Christmas Eve, especially when family commitments had us eating turkey at 2 – 3 houses! The fun of creative holiday eats!

  5. makingmade says:

    Looks soooo good! I love mussels! Some of my favorite are from a restaurant called the Publican in Chicage where I live. We’ve made them at home before, actually, and they turned out great. In case you’re interested, here’s the recipe: http://www.eilee.net/recipes/mussels/restaurant_mussels.html#r2

    • We actually went to Publican last November and absolutely loved it. We didn’t try the mussels though, so thanks for the recipe… we will definitely give it a try!

      • makingmade says:

        Wow, how funny that you’ve been there! If you do have the chance to make the mussels, the gueuze beer really is the secret ingredient. The flavor works so well without overpowering the other ingredients. Soooo good with some crusty bread.

  6. 100CookBooks says:

    Love mussels but whenever I’ve cooked them at home they don’t taste as good as in a restaurant

  7. petit4chocolatier says:

    What a great idea!! Wonderful way to spend Thanksgiving Eve : )
    Looks delicious!!

  8. Seafood before Thanksgiving dinner not that is a good meal I love seafood!!

  9. We love Mussels, we had them in Corfu with Feta and they were wonderful. Have not tried using chilli before but they look scrumptious.

  10. Francesca says:

    This is great and it looks delicious 🙂

Leave any suggestions or comments!

