I have this thing about the word moist. Always have had for some reason. It makes me giggle like a girl but when it comes to this chocolate cake I am afraid there is no other word to describe it.

This is Mum’s Sticky Chocolate Cake… I know many people will claim theirs is the best chocolate cake you will taste. Those people LIE!! Liars all of them. This cake is a sit down, knees weak, party goes silent, GOOD chocolate cake.

As my Thanksgiving present to you all I am going to share this melt in your mouth chocolaty recipe! As a disclaimer the photos do not do this justice!

We only have a single cake tin here so I make this recipe twice for the 2 layers. I don’t like letting the mixture sit while one layer cooks. So if you are lucky and have 2 same sized cake tins just double the recipe.

Firstly, in a large bowl I sifted 1 1/2 cups of self raising flour, 4 tablespoons of good dutch cocoa and 2/3 of a cup of sugar. I stirred all of this together, forming a well in the centre and then set aside.

Next I needed to melt 90 grams of butter in a small saucepan. While this was melting, in a small bowl I dissolved 2 tablespoons of golden syrup (can be found at Cost Plus World Market!! Yay!) in 1 1/4 cups of hot water.

When the syrup was completely dissolved I added 1 teaspoon of bi-carbonate soda to it and let it foam briefly. I then added that mixture to the butter.

Last thing to do is to add the butter and syrup mixture to the well of the dry ingredients, along with a drop of vanilla essence. You need to be gentle as you then fold the dry and wet ingredients together. DO NO BEAT AND DO NOT OVER MIX.

I then put this into my greased cake tin and bake for 25 minutes in a preheated 350F degree oven.

Once this is out of the oven I let it cool in the pan. They are difficult to remove when warm. Once it is cool I then do all of this all over again for the second layer.

Ok, so my second layer is out of the oven and cooling… Time to make the butter cream filling and topping.

In a bowl I combine 120 grams of butter, 2 1/2 cups of icing sugar, 1/2 a cup of cocoa, 1 teaspoon of vanilla essence and 1/4 cup of milk. Mix this together until there are no lumps. The mixture needs to be smooth and easy to spread. Add milk or icing sugar as necessary to make sure you have the right consistency.

When both cakes had cooled I assembled the cake. I placed the first layer top down and then smothered it with the butter cream, probably around 1/4 inch thick. Then I placed the second layer on top with top facing up, this means the bases of the cakes are facing eachother. Last thing is to lather the remaining butter cream over the top and the sides.

My mum would top this with coconut and I have often used grated white chocolate on top. However this time around I left it plain because J. and I don’t care, we just want to eat it.

I know I have talked this cake up but I am not exaggerating. We shared this with some friends who didn’t believe me and they thought it was incredible… That was when it was nearly a week old so imagine what it tastes like fresh! They have even requested that I make this for their birthdays!

Mum’s Sticky Chocolate Cake is so moist and rich. The cake is so delicate yet flavorful and the buttercream just adds to the moistness of it! I am learning to embrace the word moist! Out of every recipe I have spoken about on this blog this has to be my favorite so far! Try it, I’m not lying!!

Happy Thanksgiving.

Comments
  1. […] it was baking I mixed together the butter icing. Check out my recipe here. When the slice was baked I iced it while it was still hot. The icing melts into the slice and […]

  2. […] Fortunately we have a staff of 6 so it doesn’t happen too often. Earlier in the year I made a Mum’s Sticky Chocolate cake for everyone which was a huge success. This time around I gave the birthday girl a few choices […]

  3. […] Recipe slightly adapted from Life is short…. […]

  4. dalysbread says:

    That cake looks damned good. I have been a bread baker for years and have only recently started on the sweet treats but this is definitely one for the kitchen.

  5. […] can I say, I have to agree, best ( and easiest ) choccie cake […]

  6. perfectcrumb says:

    Holy hell! That looks gorgeous!

  7. This looks delicious I wonder if you were to put Peanut butter icing in the center or mini peanut butter chips sprinkled on top hiw that would taste (sorry in a pb & chocolate kinda mood lol)

  8. […] ever want to do that). The food is great, though, especially this chocolate cake, which is entitled THE BEST CHOCOLATE CAKE EVER. Bold claim, but it’s got some backup to […]

  9. patricia hinkel says:

    You had me at Chocolate! Sounds amazing!
    The Well Dressed Hen

  10. bridsnyd10 says:

    I really want to try this. Maybe for my husband’s birthday in a few weeks… =D

  11. SB says:

    This looks amazing! Can’t wait to try it! xo

  12. MissMangue says:

    I don’t know if is the best chocolate, but I feel like try it now.

  13. judibrereton says:

    Reblogged this on Hi" I'm Judi and commented:
    This cake does look melt in the mouth gorgeous!

  14. drjnet says:

    Moist is the best word ever I use it all the time! I your cake looks awesome soon as my dad diet is over ill be right into that bad boy. MOIST

  15. monkeyneedle says:

    Thanks for the like on my post for baked apple slices. This cake looks amazing and is definitely on my list of recipes to try.

  16. […] cake base, I used a different recipe that I have been wanting to try. From the lovely blog, Life is Short. Eat Hard, I tried Cara’s chocolate cake recipe called “Mum’s Sticky Chocolate […]

  17. I fancy trying this. Always on the hunt for a great choc cake. Quick question though: are you using Aussie cup measures or US in the recipe? (I want to convert to grams, and the cups are a little different – 250ml / 236ml. Want to be as accurate as possible with the mad science that is cake-making.) Thanks, Dan.

  18. Roadplug says:

    Reblogged this on Roadplug's Blog and commented:
    This looks so yummy! I can’t wait to try it – I’m looking to see if I have the ingredients NOW! ^,^)) Thanks ‘Life is Short, Eat Hard’ 🙂

  19. It seems to be delicious! I have to try it for Christmas

  20. groovyglue says:

    I’ll have to try it!

  21. this looks delicious. if ever there was a time to indulge a little, this would be it.

  22. Laura says:

    Oh that looks like the bomb…I am going to try that for sure !!! My hubby is a closet chocoholic…will save this for when I want to ask for something or do something special LOL 🙂

  23. Oh this is a dangerous post. I should be looking at pics of broccoli and salad!

    Lisa 🙂

Leave any suggestions or comments!

