Sunday last weekend we had so many leftovers from the dinner the night before I figured we would just eat a plate of that for dinner. After cooking a big dinner Saturday the last thing I wanted to do Sunday was cook. So J. and I cam up with this amazingly delicious sandwich. Gravy soaked pork with cheese and giardiniera on toasted bread. And so begins my Ode to the Pig Part III.

I grabbed the left over roast pork out of the fridge, along with the left over gravy. I sliced thin strips of the pork and put them in a small saucepan, covering with the gravy. I then just let this warm slowly. I also heated up some of the roasted veggies we had to use as a side to our sandwich.

J. in the meantime cut four thick slices of semolina bread and started toasting them under the broiler. He flipped them over and topped each side with some grated sharp cheddar cheese before putting them back under the broiler to melt.

Now it was time to assemble. On one side of the toasted bread and cheese we heaped large amounts of the gravy soaked sliced pork. On top of this we added heaped spoons of giardiniera. For those of you who don’t know what this is, it is a spicy pickled vegetable mix with carrots, pickles, peppers. So tangy and spicy it is fabulous on sandwiches. Lastly we just put the second piece of toasted bread and cheese.

These sandwiches were piled high but with some difficulty I managed to cut them in half. We sat down and bit into them and we were in porky, spicy, heaven!!! Amazing how great such a simple dish can taste and with no cooking at all. Cold pork turned into such a delicious dinner… the giardiniera add just the right amount of tanginess and spice. It was the perfect sandwich.

The pig did it again!

Comments
  1. Mmmmm pork… If you like pork suss out my post “pork… Food group, religion or just damn swine”

  2. vyvacious says:

    Mmm!! I love revamped leftovers! They make the best meals!

  3. Auntie Em says:

    Thanks for the challenge, and I love your food! I thank God for pork…

  4. Karen says:

    I love being able to create easy and delicious meals from leftovers. These sandwiches look great!

  5. oh wow that looks so delicious. hope you enjoyed it!

  6. Wow- that looks like heaven on a plate! Glad to have you on board the do something new challenge!

  7. sewexhausted says:

    Oh My- the food here looks delicious!

Leave any suggestions or comments!

