Yesterday I wrote about the finger food we had for our dinner party Saturday, the delicious Cheesy Bacon Bites. Today I thought I would tell you about the main course, which too starred the magical animal, pig! One of our mates doesn’t like lamb so I decided to do Roast Pork Leg and Veggies with Red wine Gravy and Crackling.

Mmmmm pork… my mouth is watering just thinking about it.

I decided to just keep this really simple. I roasted sweet potato and potatoes with some olive oil, garlic, salt and pepper along with some tiny red onions. These were prepared well ahead of time and were ready to put in the oven when the pork was half way done.

We had bought an 8 pound piece of pork since it was 4 guys eating and me. I figured they wouldn’t be eating many of the vegetables! I brought the pork to room temperature and sliced diagonally across the skin so it was scored for the cracking. I turned it skin side down and using a knife pushed 1/2 a dozen cloves of garlic deep into the meat. I seasoned this side well with both salt and pepper and a little dried thyme.

Next I heavily salted the skin side, rubbing ridiculous amounts of salt into it. Placing it in my roasting pan skin side up I drizzled with some olive oil and put it into a 500F degree oven for 20 minutes. This high heat helps the skin to crackle.

After the 20 minutes I turned the heat down to 380F degrees and left the pork in for another 2 hours. I also let the smell of the roast permeate through the house so when the boys got home it smelt fantastic and they were ready to eat!

When the pork had around an hour to go I put the vegetables in to cook. I turned these every 20 minutes for the last hour of pork cooking.

After the two hours I took the pork out to let it rest, gently removing the crackling. I put the crackling under the broiler for a few minutes just to crisp up a couple of small parts that weren’t quite crunchy enough for my liking.

While J. carved the rested meat I used the juices from the pan, I put into a pot 1 cup of red wine and a cup of beef stock to make the gravy. I also added some salt and pepper, plus a tablespoon of cornflour to thicken. Gravy made!

I did steam some green beans for myself and anyone else who wanted something a little healthy in there.

I served this all family style and let them all help themselves! The dinner table got pretty quite so I think it was a hit. The pork was cooked well and most importantly the crackling was salty, crunchy and unbelievable! I could seriously eat a plate of that.

A yummy dinner thanks to the wondrous pig!

Stay tuned for dessert!

Comments
  1. zanzanaglob says:

    An “ode” is the minimum a pig can deserve! 🙂

  2. Looks delicious. Those tiny onions are so damn cute!

  3. Yvonne says:

    Pigs are magical animal. So many different favors from them.

  4. margagogo says:

    Looking forward to “Ode to Pork Part III, IV, V ….”

Leave any suggestions or comments!

