The cooler weather arrived this weekend in Arizona. I am out of shorts and into jeans, I am wearing sweaters and I finally convinced J. it was time to put the comforter back on the bed after it’s summer break. I feel the cold horribly which is why I was so happy to move to a place where the only time it gets cold is at night during the short months of November through January.

One of the things I like to cook during these cooler months is pumpkin soup. Creamy, thick and delicious with some toast, this soup is a great meal during the week since I can make a giant batch and we don’t have to think about it. I had planned on making this over the weekend but pumpkins here seem to be different from pumpkins at home. I didn’t find any that I recognized so I decided to go with the butternut squash which looked exactly like butternut pumpkin at home.

Since this was not my usual pumpkin I thought I would make up a new recipe for it, with lots of spice so J. would be happy to eat it.

In a large pot I heated some olive oil and then added two roughly chopped brown onions, 1 dozen small thai chillies and 6 cloves of garlic. This might seem like a lot but there is a lot of squash and celery still to be added!

I cooked the onion and spices until they were soft and fragrant. I had roughly chopped 1 entire bunch of celery (including the leaves) and put this in with the onion. I mixed it around to make sure it was evenly combined. Next I added 4 pounds of butternut squash that I had peeled and chopped into medium size pieces.

After stirring all these ingredients together I added 4 cups of chicken stock, 1 cup of beef stock and 1 cup of water to the pot. Use vegetable stock if you want to go completely vegetarian. You might need to add additional stock to ensure that the pumpkin is just covered with liquid. Then I just covered and let it simmer away for 2 hours.

You probably don’t need to cook it that long but I was preparing for a dinner party at the same time I was making this and it just seemed easiest to let it cook while I got all my other prep done and out of the way.

I let it cool for a little bit before I used my hand blender to puree everything together. Once it was all silky smooth I added 2 cups of milk and slowly brought the soup back up to a simmer. This is when I added salt and freshly ground pepper to taste.

Now this is really spicy, I mean really, really spicy. J. wasn’t so fussed about the thought of this soup so I had to add lots of spice to win him over. We ate it for dinner last night with some delicious, fresh crusty bread and he loved it! So warming, spicy and light. The squash had a slightly milder flavor than our butternut pumpkins at home but I still really liked it.

I froze a giant container for later and we have enough for dinners this week. I am actually already looking forward to dinner tonight. You may want to tone down the spice a little if you aren’t a fan of really hot things!

Comments
  1. vinicooksveg says:

    Looks so delicious. Lovely colour!

  2. Chef Randall says:

    I like butternut squash going to try this soup.

  3. Katie Glenn says:

    I love eating with the seasons and this sounds perfect for Fall.

  4. Sally Scott says:

    Sounds yummy! I may have to try it myself.

  5. pallavij says:

    I have got to try this..looks yum

  6. Anna says:

    That soup has an incredible color. It looks so delicious!

  7. Sounds like very spicy indeed.
    You just started using the comforter again?! We’ve been using our electric blanket already for some weeks now…

  8. Reblogged this on fredcleavland and commented:
    looks yummy

  9. Gorgeous soup – lovely colour 🙂

Leave any suggestions or comments!

