This is my 50th blog post and in honor I am cooking up a storm in the kitchen. We are having friends over for dinner and I may be being a little excessive but have planned a three-course dinner. I am sure the next few blog entries will be all about the delicious goodies I am hard at work preparing but before that I wanted to introduce everyone to my new favortie sushi restaurant… Mikado.

J. had found this place on Yelp during one of his frequent explorations and it had great reviews. Our local sushi place that I have talked about before is great but super expensive so we thought we would give this place a go. The only problem is that we were starving when we got there, crazy starving. We ordered so much food the waiter and waitresses kept laughing and asking if we needed anything else and if we were going to eat it all. They actually brought our food out on a boat because it was soooo much. The people at the table next to us with their one sushi roll couldn’t believe it.

Everything we ate was fantastic. We ordered a mixed plate of sashimi and even though we didn’t know what half of it was we enjoyed every single piece. It also came with rice, salad and miso. For some reason I find miso soup so deliciously warming and comforting and the salad was tasty too. The tuna and salmon sashimi were amazing! So fresh and they just melted in your mouth.

I can’t remember exactly which sushi rolls we order but there were a lot. I know we got a spicy tuna roll that was deep fried and of course J. ordered his spicy eel roll that he loves to get at our other sushi place. J and I were both really happy with them and we finished them off. The others we ordered were also great but they have been lost in the sushi induce coma we fell into after dinner.

Lastly we had some ebi (shrimp) and ika (squid) sushi. The ebi were delicious however I was slightly disappointed with the ika, it was just a little chewy. But that was a small complaint and the only complaint out of everything we ate and we ate an extremely large amount.

Of course all of this delicious sushi and sashimi were washed down with icy cold Sapporo.

We ate about twice as much as we would normally at our local sushi restaurant and it cost pretty close to the same amount. I know we ate too much because we were starving when we went in and neither of us were that hungry the next day at all. I think this will be our new “local” sushi place since it is just as delicious and so much more affordable.

The night was great, the food delicious and we provided entertainment for the staff with the sheer quantity of sushi, sashimi and sapporo we put away!

We literally ate a boat load of sushi!

Comments
  1. milkandbun says:

    everybody loves sushi!)) and what about sake – do you like it?

  2. Lauren says:

    I wish sushi wasn’t so dang expensive, otherwise I would eat it every day!!

  3. I love sushi. This has inspired me to do something similar this weekend!

  4. Heather Tiger says:

    Looks delicious! If I wasn’t the only one who would eat sushi in my house, I would love to learn how to make it. Congrats on the 50th post!

  5. Delicious sushi meal, one thing we don’t have very good here. Congrats on the 50th post and thanks for stopping by my blog!

Leave any suggestions or comments!

