When I moved to AZ in May I brought a few treats with me, one of them being a delicious, rich blood plum jam that I had found at a small country farmers market. I had been racking my brain for something to use it with when I thought of Mum’s scones. Whenever we were getting visitors for afternoon tea, especially at late notice Mum, would whip up a batch of these for everyone.

I was meeting J. for lunch and thought I would make a batch for him to take back to his office for afternoon tea. They are fast and easy so I could make them shortly before J. was picking me up for our lunch date. One of the best things it is just a throw everything in one bowl kind of recipe so not much clean up at the end.

In a large bowl put 4 cups of self-raising flour, 1 cup of milk, 1 cup of cream, 125 grams of butter that has been melted and a pinch of salt. With a large wooden spoon I just mix all of this together until it is combined and has formed a dough. Then just turn the dough out onto a floured kitchen counter and knead it together lightly. Don’t over knead, 30 seconds to a minute is more than enough.

Press dough out until it is 2 1/2 centimetres thick. I use my hands rather than a rolling pin. I then just used a small glass to cut it into circles. Placing them close together on a baking tray, I then brush them lightly with some additional melted butter. Into a preheated 200C degree oven they go for 20-25 minutes or until they are golden brown.

These come out of the oven smelling so good. Then they are ready to eat. Simply just cut them in half and top with your own selections. I think they are best served warm with slatherings of delicious jam and whipped cream. I packed up about half of these with some jam and cream for J. to take to the office. Apparently they were a giant success, none of them came home! I was really happy with them, the blood plum jam was just spectacular but the scones were light and fluffy with the crispy extrerior.

Such an easy, delicious afternoon tea solution!

Comments
  1. Victoria says:

    Delicious! Can’t wait to try this recipe.

  2. bebs1 says:

    Thank you for the recipe. I’d love to try this. Sounds perfect with tea.

Leave any suggestions or comments!

