I spent last Friday in the kitchen. I was craving chocolate but none of my recipes for cakes or cookies were inspiring me. I had a craving for something that I couldn’t put my finger on so I thought, stuff it, I’ll wing it! I didn’t refer to any other recipes I just kind of decided to make it up as I went along… and from this was born my Chocolate Cookie & Peanut Butter Sandwich! Ok, so I might need to work on the name.

First up was the cookie. I wanted a rich chocolate cookie that was thin and crispy so it wouldn’t go mushy once the peanut butter filling was added. Be warned this recipe makes a lot of cookies, about 50 individual cookies before you join them into sandwiches.

In a large bowl I put 250 grams of softened unsalted butter and 2 cups of sugar. I created a giant mess but managed to beat this until it was light and fluffy. I then added 2 large eggs, beating them in one a time until they were completely combined. Next I added 1 teaspoon of vanilla essence. And that part was done.

In another bowl I sifted 2 cups of self-raising flour, a pinch of salt and 1/2 a cup of dutch cocoa. I then slowly added the sifted dry ingredients into the egg and sugar mixture. I kept beating as I went making sure each bit of flour was beaten in before adding more.

When all of this had been combined I spooned teaspoons of the mixture onto greased cookie sheets, placing them far apart because these were going to spread and flatten out. Then they went into a preheated 350F degree oven for 9 minutes. Well first they went in for 8 and they were too soft and then 10 and they started to burn so I settled on 9 minutes.

While these were cooking I started on the “sandwich” filling for these. I didn’t just want to slather peanut butter between each cookie so I had to make a peanut butter frosting.

In a bowl I combined 100 grams of butter, 2 cups of icing sugar (confectioners sugar) and 1 cup of peanut butter. As I was mixing this together I added about 2 tablespoons of water to help bring it together to a consistency I was happy with.

By the way, this frosting was really yummy – it kind of tasted like the filling from Reeses Peanut Butter Cups.

Once my cookies had cooled from the oven it was time to sandwich them together. First off I made sure they were matched up around the same sizes. I put 1 heaped tablespoon of filling onto a cookie and roughly smoothed it out. Then I just pressed the second cookie down onto it making sure the filling didn’t overflow too much from the cookies. That was it! Taste test time!

I was so happy with these. I couldn’t believe they turned out so well and tasted so good. The real test was when J. got home from work and had one. He loved them, he told a mate the next day “they were sooo good”… that’s always a ringing endorsement. I think these will definitely be refined a little but I am onto something good. Now I just need a name – Anyone have a suggestion?

Comments
  1. These certainly deserve a name! Great ideas in the design of the cookie.
    Thank you very much for liking and following! I’ll be coming back.

  2. suhpos says:

    I love cookies and love this post, will def be making this!

  3. jenbaily says:

    Oh YUM! The name is great as it already has everything that excites me- chocolate, cookies and peanut butter. Done!

  4. Cory Menor says:

    Is there a way to spice the turkey cheeseburgers I discover them very hard to eat?

  5. onceamonth4 says:

    You Should submit to our Holiday Cookie Contest! Our deadline is today! This would a perfect submission!

    http://onceamonth4ladies.com/2012/10/05/oams-holiday-cookie-contest/

Leave any suggestions or comments!

