I was trying to think of a sweet treat for J. that I hadn’t made before. Friday while he was at work I thought I would do some baking so he would have a sweet treat to eat over the weekend (and I wouldn’t have to bake this weekend). So Friday morning I hunted through my recipes to find something new to bake. I saw this recipe for chocolate shortbread and thought they looked easy and yummy.

If J. had his way I would only make Anzac Biscuits whenever I decided to bake cookies. Considering our very limited supply of golden syrup I feel we need to ration that and make something else.

In a large bowl cream 250 grams of butter until light. Gradually add 1 cup of sifted icing sugar (powdered sugar) and 1 teaspoon of vanilla essence. Make sure this is creamed thoroughly and the mixture is light and fluffy.

In another bowl I siftered 2 1/2 cups of plain flour and 1/4 cup of cocoa. I used a really good dutch cocoa because these have a really strong chocolate flavor and you want it to be the best flavor possibly.  Once this is all sifted together gradually add it to the butter mixture, beating it in thoroughly.

When both dry and wet ingredients have been combined press the dough into a ball. Sprinkle flour onto your kitchen bench and roll out the dough until it is about 5mm thick. I cut the dough into rectangles but you can cut into any shape you want. I put my cookies on a greased cookie tray, I pricked each cookie twice with a fork and then cooked them in a slow oven (150 C) for 20 minutes.

I serve these with a glass of cold milk. J. was very happy with his sweet treat, though they are incredibly addictive. They a crunchy but then melt in your mouth as all good shortbreads should. Even at the end of the weekend we have some left, this mixture will make about 50 cookies. I even packed up a few for J. to eat at work today!

Leave any suggestions or comments!

