I was lucky enough to get given by a friend a giant box of yellow cherry tomatoes. She had got them for a few dollars at a farmers market and offered them to me since she knows I have been doing lots of cooking to fill my free time. So with this giant box of tomatoes I thought I would make a spicy tomato chutney for sandwiches, cheese & crackers and hot dogs.

I had never made a chutney of any kind before so this was going to be a bit of a challenged. I did some research to find some different recipes. There are lots of variations on the ingredients, some use capsicum (red bell peppers), white onions, green onions and all kinds of different spices. Then there is the different mix of vinegars and water. After reading some I came up with my own combination, keeping it simple because the tomatoes were so very delicious.

So here is my made up recipe. In a large pot I put 1 cup of red wine vinegar and 2 cups of apple cider vinegar. I added to this a tablespoon of cracked black pepper, 1 teaspoon of salt, 2 cups of sugar. Stirring this until the sugar dissolves and vinegar is starting to boil.

Next I added my 3 pounds of cherry tomatoes, I halved these but I think in the future I would quarter them. I also add 2 finely chopped red onions. I used red onions because I think they have a sweeter flavor and are less overwhelming in something like this. I also put in about 10 finely chopped thai chillies. This might seem a lot but they were small and there are so many tomatoes.

I brought all of this to a boil again and put in 2 big chunks of peeled fresh ginger which I meant to take out but are now sitting in ine if the bottles! Will have to watch out for those. When it was boiling nicely I reduced the heat so it was a slow simmer and just let it simmer away for 3 hours. Make sure you stir it frequently to make sure nothing is sticking and move the tomatoes around a little bit.

It made the house smell delicious and J. came home from work curious about the smell that had taken over the house.

I was really happy with how this turned out. I got three large bottles of chutney out of this and if I had smaller ones I would have used them as little giveaway gifts. It does make a large amount but then I did have a lot of tomatoes to use, I would recommend halving or even quartering the recipe if you are buying ingredients just for home. We are going to be eating a lot of chutney for a long time.

It is delicious but it is very tart and if you prefer more of a sweet taste in your chutney and relish add some raisins or something for a touch of the sweet. We like the tart flavor as it combines so well with the spice and sweetness of the tomatoes. I think this was just the perfect spiciness and worked so well with some cheese and crackers. I can’t wait to try it on bread with some fresh ham. Not bad for the first time I think!

Comments
  1. Sally Scott says:

    It was very yummy without too much of a spicy kick.

  2. Nothing beats a good homemade chutney for snack! I will try to create a batch for this coming holiday season! Cool post!

Leave any suggestions or comments!

