Even back when I would get dragged by my parents to watch my brother play football my food of choice at a game has been a pie, a meat pie! There are so many variations on the traditional meat pie now and even a whole chain of franchises built on selling meat pies to hungry Australians. However, I am a traditionalist. I like my pies simple, beefy and sometimes with a splash of tomato sauce (ketchup to all the Americans reading this). I gave J. a choice for his football food this weekend, he could choose homemade pizza or homemade meat pies, like a good little faux-Aussie he went with the pies.

After some deliberation I decided to make mini beef & bacon pies that the boys could eat relatively neatly in front of the games. The main issue with this was what to use as the pie dishes? I had no little aluminium pie containers like back home so I thought I would just use our muffin tins and make them nice and small. Am I an ideas woman or what?!

I like to watch the football too so to make life a little easier on Sunday I prepared the pie filling Saturday night. In a large pot I heated 2 tablespoons of olive oil and then threw in 2 cloves of garlic, 2 large shallots (both garlic & shallots finely diced), 2 small chillies (this is optional but as you know J. likes his spicy food) and 4 rashers of bacon (diced). As the bacon was cooking I sprinkled in some rosemary, probably around a tablespoon.

As this was all cooking in a large bowl I put a cup of flour, a teaspoon of salt and a good amount of cracked black pepper. I just stirred this quickly together before placing my beef (I bought pre-cubed beef that is usually used for stews or kebabs) in and dredging it through the flour. I used around 3 pounds of beef for this recipe. When thinly coated in flour I added the beef to the garlic and bacon and browned it. Once browned add 1 cup of chicken stock and 1 cup of beef stock so that the beef is just covered. I also add 2 tablespoons of tomato paste and 1/2 cup of red wine. We also add a lot of ground black pepper for a little bite.

I like to let my beef mixture simmer down and thicken over a couple of hours and then put it in the fridge overnight. This way Sunday when I need it for the pies it is nice and thick and really full of flavour.

Sunday morning I grease our muffin tins. I am just using frozen puff pastry from the supermarket because it is yummy and far easier than making pastry myself. I put some flour down on the bench and roll out the puff pastry. I use the rolling pin just to roll it out a little more. I want it to be nice and thin and flaky. Using a small plate I cut out circles for the base of the pies. The pastry should come up a little higher than the tins around the edges. I use a fork to prick the edges and base before scooping in the beef filling.

Each muffin tin is filled almost to the top. I use a mug to cut the circles for the lids of the pies and then gently put them on the top. Using my fingers I wet the edge and pinch together the top and the base to they are firmly closed around the edge. With a very sharp knife I make a small X incision on the lid for steam to escape. Last thing I have to do is brush the lids with an egg wash. I want the crispiest lid I can get.

The great thing about these is that the inside is already cooked so it only takes 20 minutes to cook the pastry and then they are ready!

These turned out great and are just the right size for a snack during the football. J. said that they were dangerous and he could eat 8!! He hasn’t yet but the day is still young. The filling was rich beefy, tomato flavor with just a hint of chilli and pepper and the crust was flaky and crispy. I am really happy with these and will definitely be making them again soon, perhaps with a different filling.

Back to the football now. GO BEARS!!

Comments
  1. cbehr says:

    These look amaaaaaaazing!! BTW, thanks for following my blog. It is now at http://www.retrokix.com.

  2. loucheliving says:

    Definitely trying this recipe! As a blogging noob I appreciate the re-post!

  3. I couldn’t find the oven temperature and length of time in oven. I’m guessing 350Ā°F and 30 minutes?

  4. munchers09 says:

    You’re making me hungry; can’t wait to try this recipe. Also, planning a trip to Australia – any recommendations for pie shops/brands hubbie and I should seek out?
    Thanks!

  5. tomberan1 says:

    I’m making pies for my pub at the moment – was thinking about muffin tins, will have to give it a go. Do you suffer the indignity of a soggy bottom? šŸ™‚

  6. I’m glad you reposted this! This is a wonderful recipe and I’m going to make them for tomorrows “pre-season Seahawks game vs. Broncos”! Go Seahawks! šŸ™‚

  7. tworedbowls says:

    Looks absolutely delicious! I’ve never made meat pies before — definitely have to try this. Thanks for sharing šŸ™‚

  8. […] So take a trip down memory lane, across the Pacific to Australia with me…. here. […]

  9. Coco says:

    I think I have all these ingredients. I also have a mini-pie maker (I have until this moment considered it a space-wasting appliance). I know what I’m going to try for supper tonight! Great ideas! šŸ™‚

  10. Tammy says:

    Sounds like something that my husband would absolutely love.

  11. sani panini says:

    This sounds so good!!!

Leave any suggestions or comments!

