I was thinking over the weekend what I could make for J. and I on Monday night that would leave us with leftovers for some lunches on Tuesday through Friday. I realised I hadn’t made us any pasta for a few months and decided that making my mum’s spaghetti marinara would be a great start to our week and yummy lunches too. The great thing about this recipe is that I usually have all the ingredients for this in the pantry and just need to purchase whatever seafood we want to throw in.

In a large saucepan heat 1 tablespoon of olive oil and sauté 1 medium onion and 2 cloves of garlic, both finely chopped, until softened. To this I add in 1 425 gram tin of chopped tomatoes, 140 grams of tomato paste, 2 tablespoons of chopped parsley, 1 tablespoon of chopped basil and 1/2 cup of dry white wine.

**An aside here, I love making pasta and one reason why is there is nothing better than cooking good food with a great glass of wine in your hand.

Back to the cooking…

With everything in the saucepan I season with salt and pepper and let it sit and simmer for 40 minutes. This is when the smell permeates the house and makes everything smell absolutely delicious.

After the 40 minutes I throw our pasta (500g) on to cook, we like it nice and al dente so it is usually only 8 or 9 minutes. With 5 minutes left to go on the pasta I put our choice of seafood in the sauce. This time we had 250 grams of green prawns (shelled but with the tail left on) and 250 grams of scallops. These will cook fast, so just five minutes of cooking and they are ready to go.

I drain the pasta and then put it into the sauce, mixing it all together before serving it. I like to serve this with a crusty roll or bread for soaking up all that delicious sauce. J. and I both enjoyed this a lot, both on Monday night and for lunches through the week.

Usually we would make homemade pasta to go with this but on a Monday night that wasn’t going to happen! I will make the pasta soon and put the recipe up here.

Comments
  1. arcana29 says:

    Reblogged this on arcanumatrandom.

Leave any suggestions or comments!

