J. and I are pretty fortunate to have such mixed heritages and backgrounds. Between us we cover Australia, Italy, America, Korea, China, Japan, Indonesia and The Philippines through our families or having lived there for extended periods of time. This is quite a mix and being us we love the food from all of these countries.

J’s mum cooks the most amazing Filipino food and he has grown up with those flavors. Though I have eaten some of his mum’s cooking and some dishes he has cooked himself, I have very limited experience of Filipino food. When we were wandering around our local Asian Grocery last week J. spotted the mix for one of his favorite dishes, Sinigang.

I am hesitant to cook something his mother does so well but thought why not since it was a mix… How bad could it be.

Now, the packet has very few instructions and offers no advice on what ingredients to use other than meat or seafood. Between the two of us we decided to add some additional ingredients (as per J’s mum’s) and just hoped we could wing it.

In a large pot we sautéed in a little canola oil, 1 sliced onion, diced garlic (we used 3 cloves) and chillies. We used jalapeño and Thai chillies so that we could get good heat. We decided to use pork as our meat and in another pan browned off two large pork shoulder chops until they were a good colour ( we didn’t cook them all the way through).

To our onion and chilli mixture we added 8 cups of water and brought it to a boil. This is when we added the Sinigang packet mix and stirred until it was completely dissolved. I chopped the pork into large cubes and added it to the big pot, seasoned with salt and cracked black pepper before bringing the pot back to a boil and then lowering it to a gentle simmer.

I let it simmer for about 15 mins as per packet instructions but I think we could have left it longer just so the flavors really came together. Just before we were ready to eat I added 3 clumps of baby bok choy and cooked for 2 more mins, until they were just cooked.

To serve this we just had bowls of steamed rice and ladled the soup and bits of the ingredients over top.

Not only was this me first time making Sinigang it was my first time tasting it as well, apparently I have tasted his mum’s before but I can’t remember the flavor. I really enjoyed the spicy sour flavor and know that come winter this will be a regular meal for us. This is real comfort food for from the Philipines and J. said that it is what your mum makes when you aren’t feeling well. This might be our new chicken soup replacment.

Note: This can be eaten with seafood, fish or beef but traditionally it is eaten with pork. Usually pork ribs or chops are used. I think it would work great with Chicken as well.

Comments
  1. Reen says:

    Pork sinigang is my favorite food and I highly suggest that you should try Kansi. Kansi is somewhat similar to sinigang. Check out the recipe at http://www.pinoyrecipe.net/kansi-recipe/#axzz2FVJnO4hO 🙂

  2. snati001 says:

    Great job! I love that tamarind soup mix and even add some to those ramen soup packages. After reading your post, I think I will make sinigang next week 😀

  3. Pork Sinigang is one of my comfort food. Thanks for sharing the recipe 🙂

  4. JJ says:

    Are you going to add the recipe to your others for this?

  5. JJ says:

    I’m going to try making this if I can find that mix in my local supermarket. The Asian grocery near me is small though.

Leave any suggestions or comments!

