Ok, so this isn’t really an Aussie football favourite but it is a nibble my mum used to make for parties and I thought it would be a great one for a day of NFL watching on Sunday. The challenge with this recipe was to first find plum sauce which is fairly common in Australia but proved a little difficult here in AZ. We went to Lee Lee’s our local Asian grocery and went up and down the aisles looking for this necessary ingredient. We finally found two different types, one in the Thailand aisle and one in the Japanese aisle. We ended up getting both just in case and though neither was exactly what I was looking for I decided a combination of both would make a close approximation.

This recipe suggests chicken drumsticks, though I have also used chicken wings, this time around I used chicken thighs. I used 8 chicken thighs and cut deep slits in them to let the marinade really soak in.
8 chicken drumsticks. In a large bowl combine 1/2 cup of plum sauce, 2 tablespoons of soy sauce, a tablespoon of honey, 1 teaspoon of grated fresh ginger, 2 cloves garlic, crushed, 4 spring onions chopped finely, a tablespoon of olive oil and chillies to taste. I added 6 small thai chillies finely chopped because we like it hot.

I added the chicken to the bowl and turned to coat in marinade. I covered and refrigerated overnight. I actually turned the chicken a few times during the marinating process.

On Sunday morning before the games I brought out the chicken and placed it in a line a baking dish. I actually sprayed the foil with oil as well since this gets very sticky. Put the chicken into a preheated 200C oven for around 1 hour or if you are using wings until cooked.

I poured the remaining marinade into a saucepan, brought it to the boil and let it simmer and reduce for about 30 minutes to use as a dipping sauce.

When cooked I let them cool a little so they could be eaten with our fingers and served with a bowl of the dipping sauce. They were messy, sticky and juicy but very good. They were are really great snack for our Sunday of football watching and will probably be made again!

Leave any suggestions or comments!

