Arizona Restaurant Week has now finished and we managed to squeeze in another night out on Saturday night. This time we decided to try a $30/person set menu at a place we haven’t been to before called Noca. As you will notice from my photos it is a restaurant with a “mood” lighting which I love but unfortunately didn’t offer the best lighting for photos.

Of course just as with Cork earlier in the week we made sure to have our dishes chosen in advance from their special  menu. When we arrived we were surprised to find that they had been changing items on the menu every day during Restaurant week so we had some new choices to make. So while I sipped on a glass of prosecco J. and I studied the menu.

We were given an amuse bouche of tomato, capers and balsamic vinegar to start while we waited on our appetisers. I ordered the cheeseboard to start which had 3 different cheeses, including goats cheese and pecorino. The cheeses came with a soft flatbread and some delicious honey to drizzle on the cheese. This was a delicious and light starter for me, though I could have enjoyed it just as much at the end of the meal.

J. was happy to see that Giovanna’s Meatballs had been added to the amended menu and he ordered that. They came on a bed of polenta and were smothered in tomato sauce. J. polished these off quickly but I managed to get a few bites in. The meatballs were full of flavor and I really loved the polenta.

Next up were our main meals, fortunately both of which were from the original menu and still appeared because I was really looking forward to mine. I had the Berkshire Pork Loin wrapped in prosciutto, stuffed with fennel & cheese and accompanied by a roasted sweet potato mash and tomato jam. What more do I really need to say, except Oh My God it was good!!

J. had the Maccheroncini which is a beef shortrib ragu and pasta. This was a huge serving for a bargain set menu of $30 and was really good. J. said the pasta was homemade and perfectly al dente when he received it. They were incredibly generous with meat which was beautifully tender. The crusty bread they had given us worked perfectly for dipping and sopping up the sauce.

Our desserts came out with 2 cookies for us to take home and a bowl of fairy floss to share. I must say that it has to be the best fairy floss I have ever eaten, not too sweet and a beautiful flavour. We still haven’t eaten the cookies so I can’t comment on them. Our desserts though, I can comment on, both of which didn’t appear on the original menu.

I had the vanilla panna cotta with raspberry sauce and biscotti. This was so very good. I think these were some of the yummiest biscotti I have had and the panna cotta was perfect. J. enjoyed his dessert so much he was hesitant to share but did offer me a few spoonfuls of his chocolate pot de creme. It was more of a mocha flavor and was silky and smooth, not to mention addictive. He also got two chocolate cookies with this which were nice but were definitely outshone by the pot de creme.

Overall we were very happy with our choice here. Unfortunately it is a bit of a drive for us and we won’t be frequenting it that often but if we are over that side of the city for something we will definitely drop in for a meal.

Again, sorry for the dark photos!

Leave any suggestions or comments!

