I guess this is not your traditional tiramisu… there is no mascarpone in it but it is how my mum has made it and J. loves it. I actually don’t like tiramisu so usually when I make it J. gets to eat the entire bowl all by himself (over a few days of course). Anyway, last weekend we were invited to a friend’s house for dinner and I decided I would take the opportunity to make it for a group of people who had never tried any tiramisu before.

Firstly, I put 2 cups of espresso on for use a little later. When the espresso is ready I add 1 tablespoon of sugar, mix and set aside to cool.

In a large bowl I beat 4 egg yolks and 1/2 cup of castor sugar. When pale and fluffy I beat in 500 grams of softened cream cheese until completely combined.

In another bowl I will 300ml of whipping cream, when whipped I fold in 1/3 a cup of Baileys Irish Cream liquor. I then add the whipped cream mixture to the cream cheese mixture, gently folding until it is all mixed together.

Now for assembly! First I grate a large block of hazelnut chocolate for the chocolate layer. I use the dry, hard lady finger biscuits (or sponge finger biscuits). I find these soak up the coffee well and don’t get mushy and fall apart. I use a large round bowl and usually about 1 packet of lady fingers.

To create the first layer I dip lady fingers in the cooled espresso, making sure each side has been wet. Do this quickly or the biscuits start disintegrating. When the bottom layer is complete I use 1/3 of the cream cheese mixture and spread it evenly as the next layer. On top of that I sprinkle 1/3 of the grated chocolate. Repeat this process 2 more times so that the final layer is a thick coating of the grated chocolate.

I like to refrigerate this overnight just to make sure it is nice and set before eating. I must admit that often it gets eaten well before it has been in the fridge for a night… but try to get a couple of hours at least.

This was a hit with the group of friends and I think it was a great success with a group of people who had never tried Tiramisu before. J. got to enjoy it too and bring home the leftovers!!

 

 

Comments
  1. Could I use regular chocolate instead of the hazelnut? I’m allergic to nuts. I love tiramasu and think you can enjoy it any time of the day!! Yum! Thanks for sharing…

Leave any suggestions or comments!

