My fabulous parents sent me a care package from Australia. It was full of ingredients for some of my favorite sweets that I can’t seem to find here in Phoenix. Included in this package was a box of custard powder… now one might think it was for me to be able to make custard but no… it is for making Jam Drops. After quickly messaging my Dad for the recipe I decided I just had to make these.

This is an easy recipe and very quick. I actually managed to bake these while J. was cooking our steaks for dinner on the BBQ.

In a large bowl beat together a 1/4 lb butter and a 1/2 cup sugar. When light and fluffy add a few drops of vanilla and the egg. Mix together and then add 1 1/2 cups Self-raising flour gradually making sure it is entirely combined. Finally add in 1/2 cup of custard powder and mix until completely combined.

Roll into golf size balls and place them on a greased cookie sheet. With your thumb make a crater in the center of each and then fill with your favorite jam. I just used some strawberry jam (jelly) we had in the fridge.

Cook in a preheated oven of 180 degrees celsius (355 F) for 12 minutes. Let them cool and then eat.

My Dad jokingly added , hide them from J. This may be a joke but it’s good advice. These are incredibly good and once you start it’s hard to stop. I think ours will be gone within 24 hours!

Yum!

Leave any suggestions or comments!

