Since I am heading into my 3rd month of being at home and am starting to get a little stir crazy J. decided to surprise me today and come home from work to take me out to lunch. Cornish Pasty Co. has been a favorite of ours for a long time and is just around the corner from our place. It’s a great late night destination and we have often dropped in there on our way home from the airport.

I think over the last couple of years between the 2 of us we have managed to try nearly everything on the menu. Except for the vegetarian options because I am a firm believer in the idea that men should eat meat!

Today I decided to go with The Porky and J. went with the Meat and Cheese pasty. As always they were delicious with crispy, flaky crusts and delicious fillings. My Porky had apple, potato,  onion, sage and of course pork. It also came with their delicious red wine gravy on the side.

J’s Meat and Cheese pasty was filled with pork and sage sausage, cheddar and swiss cheese. As J. said “this is all meaty, cheesy goodness!!”.

What a great lunch! Such a relaxed casual place that reminds me so much of the pubs at home, including a great selection of beers. This is also the only place in America I have seen a Pavlova on a menu and though it isn’t what I would say is a traditional pav it is a great little taste of home for me. We will keep going back!

Comments
  1. Yvonne says:

    Pasty and pavlova….. I wish it wasn’t 3.5 hours away or I would be on my way.

Leave any suggestions or comments!

